Butterfly – Doorways Of Time

From down under in Melbourne rose four experienced musicians. Butterfly brings you the album ‘Doorways of Time’, which will take you on a trip back to the 70’s and 80’s. What better way to do this by dusting of your old record player and slap on some vinyl. The music has influences from bands like Kiss, AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath.

First song ‘Desert Chase’ immediately shows what to expect from the album. It is old, raw, distorted. I absolutely can imagine myself sitting in some old bikers’ bar. ‘Climbing A Mountain’ the first part of the song reminds me of Steppenwolf ‘Born To Be Wild’ but changes mid song. You can really hear all the influences from different bands.

The title track ‘Doorway Of Time’ is the third song. “I got this feeling that I am lost somewhere in space and time”. This line of lyrics definitely breaks down how to bring back Hard Rock to the present days and future. The middle part of the song is somewhat calm and it is just perfect to set the mood to think about life. Wasn’t it all easier when we were wild and young? ‘The Night Is In Its Way’ feels like the night is marching in on the beat of the drums. A calm song compared to the previous ones. ‘Nobody’ somewhat dark vibe is hanging over this one in the start but it weakens down near the end. ‘The Sin’ kicks me back right to the 70’s. Standing with a beer in my hand in Mardi Gras.

‘Heavy Metal Highway’ I expected a bit more from. It is hard but I think it could have more potential than we can hear. ‘Crawling’ is the song that crawls in your skin with a long guitar intro that is very pleasant to listen to. The lead guitar dominates the whole song, it is brilliant. A lovely ending of the album, I think this song is the cherry on the ice-cream.

The album ends with a very short instrumental short called ‘The Scorpion’. It is a nice relaxing song which fades out in the end. And so comes and end to the trip in time. ‘Doorways Of Time’ is an album which I look back to with pleasant dreams. It was hard, soft, classic, retro, distorted, 70’s, 80’s. The band really did a great job to make all these sounds flow together in one musical eargasm.

Release date: March 5, 2021
Label: Petrichor (Hammerheart Records)

  1. Desert Chase
  2. Climbing a Mountain
  3. Doorways of Time
  4. The Night is on its Way
  5. No Body
  6. The Sin
  7. Heavy Metal Highway
  8. Crawling
  9. The Scorpion


  • Music Quality7
  • Lyrics8
  • mix7
  • Artwork9
  • Originality6
  • 7.4


    Australian Butterfly brings us a traditional heavy metal album filled with retro sounds that go from hard to soft and back hard again! An absolute delight for those who are into traditional heavy metal and hard rock.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *