Cherokee – Blood & Gold

Hailing from Cologne, CHEROKEE was founded in 2014. Several lineup changes occurred until the first lineup was complete – guitarists Simon Siantidis and Alexander Beda Maria Kleusch, bassist Fabian Albert Dey, drummer Fabian Kampa, and vocalist Katharina Heldt – which recorded two demos, ‘Ridin’ Free’(2015) and ‘Mother Nature’s Child’ (2016). Following the second demo, Heldt departed the band.

In 2017, vocalist Laura Vesprini joins CHEROKEE, and together the EP ‘Wakan Tanka Nici Un’ was recorded and released in 2018. Many gigs followed, the band truly finding their latent power onstage, and in 2019 did a successful mini-tour commence with Canadian compatriots Freeways. On 19th November 2019 CHEROKEE will release their long player debut ‘Blood & Gold’ in Double-LP format.

This record is the statement of the CHEROKEE aesthetic: moody, dynamic, and storytelling hard rock chiseled from the ‘70s. Although some of the songs are re-recorded versions of earlier songs, CHEROKEE wanted something special for their debut full-length album and simply could not decide which songs to cut, and thus did they settle for a 15-song, 75 min., double-album. It is honest, handmade guitar-driven music, a perfect mix of hard rock and blues, fun and power.

The album has up-tempo song like ‘Bill Pullmann’ or ‘Song for RG’ and more bluesy songs like ‘My Sweet Tulip’ or ‘Following My Blues’. Balladesques songs like ‘Just one summer long’ and ‘Il Grande Silenzo’ are rounding it up – the latter giving in some a little country & western feeling elements. In contrast to that are songs like ‘Ride by the night’ which guitar riffs somehow remind you of early Iron Maiden songs. The variety of song styles leads you through the whole 15 tracks – you’ll enjoy the variety for sure.

The voice of singer Laura Vespini can be somehow polarizing – definitely a great voice and singer. She’s giving CHEROKEE a very specific style and sound that’ll make you recognize CHEROKEE when you hear them. I’m a little back and forth, for some songs of the album it’s a perfect fit to me and for some other songs I’d wished for something different, less clean. As always personal taste.

Release Date: 19th November 2021
Label: Dying Victims Productions

  1. Bill Pullmann
  2. My Sweet Tulip
  3. Just One Summer Long
  4. Il Grande Silenzio
  5. Ride by Night
  6. Sigourney
  7. Song For RG
  8. The Nightingale And The Red Rose
  9. Rite Of Peyote
  10. Malinche
  11. Mother Natures Child
  12. Ridin Free
  13. To Destroy Life
  14. Following My Blues
  15. Warriors Of The Rainbow

Release info:
– Regular double LP gatefold edition on black vinyl, with poster, sticker, post card and download code.
– Special double LP gatefold edition on blood red and golden vinyl, with poster, sticker, post card, download code and patch.
– CD edition with sticker.
– MC edition with sticker, button, download code.


More online here:


  • Music8
  • Vocals7
  • Artwork7
  • Production8
  • Originality8
  • 7.6


    This is a solid music packed debut - 15 songs - value for money, worth listening. For lovers of classic 70s and 80s hard rock this will be good choice.

Tom Treuten

Grey-haired metal gentleman and photographer. Freelance photog & author for GRIMM. Based in Stuttgart area, Germany.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *