Delain – Hunter’s Moon

Dutch melodic metal band Delain comes with a new album called Hunter’s Moon. The album cover appeals to me with the 2 skeletons hugging each other with the pink and white flowers between them. It’s actually pretty colourful and girly for a metal album. The biggest surprise is that this album contains 4 brand new studio tracks, a live album and a live Blue-Ray Disc. Hunter’s Moon offers a haunting preview of what Delain is working on for their next studio album, at the same time it will take you on a cinematic journey to the Danse Macabre Tour in Utrecht’s Tivoli Vredenburg.

We all know that Delain gives us very varied music and they prove it again with the first song ‘Masters Of Destiny’, which starts with Charlotte‘s angelic voice combined with Martijn‘s synthesizer creating tinkling little bells. It gives you the feeling you’re in some kind of fairy tale and suddenly it bursts into very heavy music. It’s a very unique song where peaceful parts alternate with chaotic parts. It’s a very strong start for the album.

Title track ‘Hunter’s Moon’ is a catchy song and I liked it immediately. Another personal favourite is ‘Art Kills’. When I heard these two songs I was a bit disappointed that there isn’t more new studio material on this album, but it makes me very curious about their next album. Charlotte‘s clean vocals supported by a choir and grunts creates nice vocal ensembles and musically the first four songs are very strong. What’s also unique is the fact that Delain‘s guitarists Timo and Merel stepped to the forefront in composing ‘The Silence Is Mine’ and ‘Art Kills’.

For the live album Delain chose for the songs from the live performance with a guest on stage, mostly Marco Hietala (Nightwish). Other guests were George Oosthoek (Orphanage) and cellist Elianne Anemaat.

I was really pleased to do the tour, because it gave me a chance to challenge myself in different surroundings and band dynamics. In the end it comes down to the same old but great thing. I love doing good shows with good people for good audiences. All for one and one for all!

Marco Hietala about the Dance Macabre Tour.

I think this album is a very unique concept combining a couple of new songs with half of a live performance. I prefer a complete live album with the entire show on, which makes me wonder why Delain decided to bring Hunter’s Moon in this way. Their first and latest live album dates from 2018, their last studio album from 2016. Maybe they didn’t want to keep us waiting too long for some new songs.

Release date: February 22nd, 2019
Label: Napalm Records
1. Masters Of Destiny
2. Hunter’s Moon
3. This Silence Is Mine
4. Art Kills
5. Hands Of Gold – Live (feat. George Oosthoek)
6. Danse Macabre – Live
7. Scarlet – Live
8. Your Body Is A Battleground – Live (feat. Marco Hietala)
9. Nothing Left – Live  (feat. Marco Hietala)
10. Control The Storm – Live (feat. Marco Hietala)
11. Sing To Me – Live (feat. Marco Hietala)
12. Not Enough – Live
13. Scandal – Live (feat. Marco Hietala)
14. The Gathering – Live (feat. Marco Hietala)


  • Music9
  • Lyrics/Vocals10
  • Production/Mix9
  • Artwork/Packaging10
  • Originality9
  • 9.4


    Hunter's Moon brings a combination of live songs and new songs that make you long for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *