SINGLE PREMIERE: new DOEDSVANGR song ‘As The Rivers Bleed Their Blessings’

Consisting of four Black Metal veterans, DOEDSVANGR return after seven years of silence to give birth to their second album “Serpents Ov Old”. NORDJEVEL‘s Doedsadmiral (vocals), SARGEIST‘s Shatraug (guitars, bass), THE ORDER OF APOLLYON‘s BST (guitars) as well as ex-TSJUDER‘s AntiChristian (drums), blend the sound of different Black Metal traditions together and unleash a swaggering, hedonistic blaze of hard-rocking fuck-the-world malevolence.

As The Rivers Bleed Their Blessings‘, the first track DOEDSVANGR unveil, is characterized by a violent wall of sound consisting of grim vocals, powerful bass lines as well as thundering drumbeats, which you can catch in premiere right here:

Guitarist BST handled the recording of guitars and bass as well as mixing and mastering in his studio in France. Additionally, drums and vocal recordings took place in Velvet Recording in Norway. The artwork for “Serpents Ov Old” was created by Khaos Diktator Design (CULTUS PROFANO).

Guest vocals on “Flagelist” by Nag (TSUJDER) and on both “Imperialis” + “Black Dragon Phoenix” by Vicotnik (DØDHEIMSGARD)

Limited CD and vinyl versions both feature a bonus cover track, “Pile Driver“, from cult Canadian Thrash Metal band PILEDRIVER.

Serpents Ov Old” will be released on CD, vinyl, and digitally on October 29th. Pre-orders will start on September 6th.

Serpents Ov Old” consists of the following songs:
1. Serpents Ov Old
2. As The Rivers Bleed Their Blessings
3. Flagelist
4. Imperialis
5. White Finger
6. Black Dragon Phoenix
7. Carrier Of Heads
8. The Salt Marsh
9. Poisonous Tides

Interview with DOEDSVANGR about their first single ‘As The Rivers Bleed Their Blessings
Q: Good evening Doedsadmiral & BST and thank you for your time and effort! ‘As The Rivers Bleed Their Blessings’ is the first song to be unleashed from the coming album “Serpents Ov Old”. Could you elaborate for us the musical vision behind this one composition? What atmosphere and what vibe did you have in mind when crafting this specific track?
BST: The way this entire album is built can be seen as rather unconventional. The drums were recorded first with absolutely no other music written, meaning the skeleton of the track was conceived on drums only. These drum parts had a special groove to them, which left some room for atmosphere, and from then on, the song writing was very spontaneous and instinctive. So, to answer your question, there was nothing specific on my mind, I was simply following the inspiration these drum patterns were giving, without thinking too much about it. In general, I try not to intellectualize too much the writing process, it needs to be visceral.
Q: There is this special moment after about three minutes, when Doedsadmiral screams ‘Fire!’ and the lead guitars set in. Could you tell us how such special moments come into being during song writing? How did the four of you work together to create such a potent song and moment?
BST: Another peculiar thing about the way this album was built is that it was all made remotely, while the pandemic was at its peak, so we did not meet, rehearse together, or even really talk too much about how things were supposed to sound. I wrote the music for this track isolated, within my own studio, which actually was both comfortable and inspiring to me. As for the part you mentioned, it really happened spontaneously. The drum parts were clearly building up to some powerful and epic guitar break, and it simply happened that way.

Q: ‘As The Rivers Bleed Their Blessings’ is a rather mysterious and secretive title, it sounds almost ritualistic. Is there a specific lyrical concept behind the song, and if yes, could you comment on that?
DOEDSADMIRAL: Yes, it`s a very ritualistic, and in some form melancholic text. But there is no specific lyrical concept to this track, other than that the earth bleeds for our sins. The lyrical aspect of this album is the most dark, harsh, deep, and hateful I have ever written.

DOEDSVANGR was founded in 2014 by Doedsadmiral with the specific intention of expressing raw brutality through music. He set the bar high when it came to his wish-list of people to work with, and in no time TSJUDER’s AntiChristian joined on drums, later to be joined by the infamous Shatraug (SARGEIST), thereby fulfilling Doedsadimral‘s vision. The name DOEDSVANGR itself has two different meanings, and can mean both “fields of death” and “dead womb”.

In 2015 DOEDSVANGR signed a contract with Immortal Frost Productions and the band’s 2017 debut album, “Satan Ov Suns”, proved to be the perfect blend of Black Metal from Finland and Norway.

In 2019, BST (THE ORDER OF APOLLYON, ex-AOSOTH) joined DOEDSVANGR on guitar, and work commenced on the follow up album. Having inked a deal with Debemur Morti Productions, the new album, titled “Serpents Ov Old”, is set for release in late 2021.

DOEDSVANGR also signed with the booking agency Flaming Arts so that the band could progress to becoming a live entity.

::Line Up::
Doedsadmiral – Vocals
Shatraug – Guitars & Bass
BST – Guitars & Bass
AntiChristian – Drums

More info about the band:


Music addict - DJ - Editor-in-chief/Journalist/Photographer/Gatekeeper @ GRIMM Gent - Suomi lover - Geek - Science nut - Nature worshiper/Pagan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *