Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

/ 0 Comments / By :
New Zealand-based dissonant death metal act Ulcerate follows its modern agglomeration principle in the band’s seventh album 'Cutting the Throat of God', out via Debemur Morti Productions on July 14th, 2024. The conception of fusing atmosphere and technicality has been enhanced with each studio release. It is the way of this New Zealander trio to bring their works of wonder and to push further the thresholds in the realms of death metal.

The refined guitar riffs to riffs progression shows the impeccable niche that would enable Ulcerate to transcend beyond the norms. There is always a sonic beauty layered within the composition: be it the ultra-brutality of the crushing drums or the deeper growls that uplift the weight of the floating dissonance. The masterful lineup of Jamie Saint Merat (drums, percussion), Paul Kelland (bass, vocals) and Michael Hoggard (guitars) conjure up a respectful performance in blending disharmony and an array of dissonance that would make the earth tremble from the eruption.

The mastery of the guitars and the cohesion of the drumming prowess weaves like a labyrinth that allows the listener to hear the sheer magnificence of the instruments in the opening track ‘To Flow through Ashen Hearts’ . It conveys a marvelous journey through the decaying worlds of Ulcerate, revealing the paradoxical, powerful drumming sections. Despite the intricacy, the ultimate grandeur has a level of simplicity. This explains the consistency and finds the nurturing elements in the air of disordered chaos that has now become the trademark and the evolution of their songwriting. Through the slow passages where the guitar layers build textures upon textures, the guitar riffs weave moody pieces and the growling hooks captivate you. Then the outburst of blast beats create the backbone, pummeling fast without undermining the atmospheric ambiance of the music.

The Dawn is Hollow’ cultivates these elements by providing the depths of songwriting, leaving you all delusional amid the sheer brilliance. Ulcerate’s refinement perhaps achieves the most balanced qualities. The drums are firm in execution and the detail of the guitar elements has an elegant melody that brings harmony to the morose growls and the turbulent bombardment of the percussion. The fluency of the instruments takes time to manifest like a radiant jewel and these melodies develop a sense of emotional crescendos.

Further Opening the Wounds’ is more diversified but this time Ulcerate wields its brutal force by emphasizing the array of abrasive riffs and tectonic drum beats and the intense heaviness that permeates the whole song. Moody, atmospheric guitars create an air of contemplation in which shimmering dissonance is the song’s highlight. Ulcerate’s musical style is similar to bands like Blut Aus Nord and Deathspell Omega. The trio brings many ideas to their songwriting as they continue solidifying their trademark sound by harnessing a unique death metal trademark.

One of the creative songs in the album is ‘Transfiguration In and Out of Worlds’ which is eight minutes long. Ulcerate isn’t afraid of drawing on different elements, the riffs build up with a fabulous technique. The shape-shifting tempo clearly shows the eerie guitar arrangements with dissonance showing the compositional genius. The focus here is to convey a fresh organic sound, with the drums injecting brutality.

The method is admirable because Ulcerate bends its bleak atmosphere: the sense of heaviness flourishes and grooves highlight the musical technicality, at the same time unafraid to deliver some beautiful hooks. The rhythm section is one of the catchiest and most interesting parts of ‘To See Death Just Once’. Ulcerate pushes through the dissonance through complex drum patterns to conjure up catchy guitar melodies with the arpeggios adding a richer texture. There is always a sense of melancholy that often swirls in the sonic vortexes.


Undying as an Apparition’ is almost ten minutes long, but the quality of the riffing immediately captures your senses. From the opening moments of this track the trio showcases an intricate blend of immersive experience that conveys powerful dynamics with the work of the guitars and the grinding drums. Ulcerate prefers this long, immersive atmosphere so that the listener get lost in another world.

The final track ‘Cutting the Throat of God’ takes elements from the previous album ‘Stare into Death and Be Still’ and conveys an immaculate modus operandi with the off-kilter guitar work that has its moments to the grinding double bass drums. The music journeys through gloomy dissonance and beautiful guitar fragments to create unforgettable, emotional experiences.


  • Music / Songwriting 9/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics 9/10
  • Mix / Production 10/10
  • Artwork & Packaging 8/10
  • Originality 9/10

Ulcerate’s seventh album aims its sonic cannon always higher in providing innovative and monolithic standards of dissonant death metal. The album comes highly recommended for fans of Blut Aus Nord and Deathspell Omega.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *