Blut Aus Nord – Disharmonium – Undreamable Abysses

/ 0 Comments / By :
French, atmospheric black metal Avant-Garde collective Blut Aus Nord returns with their 14th opus 'Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses', out via Debemur Morti Productions on May the 20th. Taking the audience beyond the domains of black metal Blut Aus Nord traverses deep into the realm of horror. Much like its predecessor 'Hallucinogen', the music navigates through the dark unearthly harmony. The bizarre cosmic opera comprises supernatural themes where the music utterly transcends, with eldritch screams and dreadful female chants, enhancing the atmosphere.

The songwriting boasts a sense of creativity, consisting of 7 uncanny tracks. ‘Disharmonium – Undreamable Abysses’ re-injects nuances of the past musical works such as the 777 trilogies. The opening track ‘Chants of The Deep Ones’ sets the tone for the album: atmospheric spacey guitars swell from the ambient background of the synth exuding otherworldly Lovecraftian soundscapes. Blut Aus Nord probes into more labyrinthine song structures. Complex synth patterns are fused with a cacophony of dissonance, offering a profound atmosphere to create a compelling backdrop. Eerie chants along spacey guitar licks illustrate the dimensional spectrum. Even though the experience pushes towards more profound horror, the inspiration of H.P. Lovecraft is clearly manifested.

Tales of the Old Dreamer’ segues into mystifying twists. The song features creepy, female chants imbuing phantasmagorical sonic landscapes. The superb mixing of these elements makes each instrument flawlessly audible. It’s impressive how Blut Aus Nord explores vivid sounds. The lead guitars are quite integral and are given a dimensional effect. The juxtaposition of the ethereal guitars on the somber background is kaleidoscopic. Within each track the bleak guitars create a dazzling cosmic effect and the drumming performance is fabulous. As deep as the depth of the unfathomable space, the songcraft perceives a cold black void. The paranormal aura enhances the eeriness that befits the theme of the album.


Further on tracks like ‘Into the Woods’ Blut Aus Nord offers a dissonant palette of heavy industrial sounds. Emerging like a menacingly demonic figure from the outer space, the composition greatly contrives a frightening sensation. ‘Disharmonium – Undreamable Abysses’ presents a spine-chilling spectacle. The musical setting is tinted with obscured layers of synth and hypnotic guitars. The maddening whispers that drift into the aura of the music become the most horrifying component which is part of the complex whole. Blut Aus Nord blends the black metal sections with the ambient opera. Surprisingly the female vocal chants are used in each of the songs. The 14th opus uncovers the experimental and creative song-craft of the French avant-gardist, there is a bewitching grandeur that surrounds the music hence making it unpredictable and enticing.

The sinister opening of ‘Neptune’s Eye’ is as gloomy as the previous entries. While morphing into a cold, celestial atmosphere, there is something dark, eerie and yet frightening to all the breadth and the grotesqueness. When the music shifts to eerie tones, the drums take a swift momentum where the guitars and the eldritch whispers at once become ominous. The vocals maintain the vicious howling throughout the album, which invites a multitude of ominous sounds while the guitars use a variety of techniques to alternate the moods and the dark growing atmosphere.

That Cannot Be Dreamed’ suddenly drips of unspeakable horror with the brooding effect of the keyboards fixed in the background. Senses capture the dark chant-like vocals and the rumbling of the drums that resemble the awakening of some ancient, colossal alien being. Ominous, electronic rhythms emit otherworldly noises while a bizarre array of disharmonic riffs swirls through the breadth of the ominous music.

The Lovecraftian themes are well-defined on tracks like ‘Keziah Mason’. The ambient synth and the guitars ebb and flow, producing a very spectral effect that is bleak in its intensity. A kaleidoscopic array of phantasmal shades perfectly unravels the otherworldliness quality of the splendid guitars to create an uncanny sense of dread. Closing with the 6 minutes track ‘The Apotheosis of the Unnamable’  creates a phantasmagorical environment, plunging further into an orchestrated array of dark melodies.  A meandering morass meticulously crafted to infect your mind with the seemingly endless howling of the demonic forces that are lurking beyond space and time. Ghostly tentacles wrapping your soul as the portent of cosmic malice calls you out from space to haunt you for eternity.


  • Music / Songwriting 9/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics 9/10
  • Mix / Production 9/10
  • Artwork & Packaging 9/10
  • Originality 9/10

‘Disharmonium – Undreamable Abysses’ is a genuine portrayal of otherworldly entities. It’s an eerie and twisted magnum opus displayed in the most haunting and atmospheric climaxes, fully saturated in bleak unearthly beauty of darkness.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *