Foul Body Autopsy – This Machine Kills Zombies

/ / By :

Hailing from Leicester, England, the one-man death metal band Foul Body Autopsy has put together all his creativity and bottled up anger again. With this he forged an album! Previously, he has put out some well-received EP’s and one full-length album in 2015, which was the band’s debut album. This debut was released under UKEM Records, but this time for his upcoming full-length album Tom Reynolds decided to go solo. The aforementioned brains behind this project is no stranger from forging straight-forward head-smashing metal. Needless to say, he might have done it again.

This album certainly gives you a different sound than you would expect from a one-man formation with a single coil loaded telecaster on his promo picture. The album starts off with the track Ghost Ships Full Of Rotten Corpses. This tune gives you a pretty decent impression of what’s more to unleash on this violent record.  Melodic, yet thrash orientated guitar riffs are used throughout the whole album. This goes hand in hand with well-used drum programming. The vocals lean more towards the crispy sound that black metal vocalists produce with their possessed throats.

Chaos Reigns is the fourth track on the album, and it doesn’t start off as you would expect it to. Who would expect punky riffs? This soon transitions into the kind of guitar work that leans more towards the thrash side. What can be found on this album is certainly a mix of fast, heavy and tight playing. The songs go along with each other perfectly fine, and thus create a certain sound.

To create an album like This Machine Kills Zombies on your own, there is no other explanation than trading your soul for creativity. I think Tom Reynolds did a pretty solid job creating the follow-up of his debut album. The artwork matches the music perfectly in my opinion. It’s unquestionably an original, well thought through eye-catcher. This album leaves nothing to the imagination. There’s one thing though that I just can’t ignore, and that’s the fact that I can barely hear the bass guitar coming through. The title and the content are inspired by the George A. Romero movie ‘Day of the Dead’, and the music gives a likewise feel. It really makes you want to smash zombie faces!

Release date: March 24th, 2018
Label: Independent
1. Ghostships Full Of Rotting Corpses
2. The Unquiet Dead
3. Outbreak
4. Chaos Reigns
5. Obliterate All Life
6. Total War
7. Circling The Drain
8. Purified Ready To Reclaim



  • Music7/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals7/10
  • Production/Mix5/10
  • Artwork/packaging8/10
  • Originality8/10
7Very solid job, especially because it's an one-man band. The album has some original aspects to it and has very thrash orientated, heavy riffs. Very much worth the listen!