Fu Manchu – Clone Of The Universe

/ / By :

The desert rock phenomenon that is Fu Manchu is back with their 12th, highly anticipated album: Clone of the Universe. The record will be released on February 9th via their own label At The Dojo Records. Following 2014’s Gigantoid, this record marks their first in 4 years time.

Through the years and line-up changes, the band has maintained the typical sound from, for example, their legendary album The Action is Go. Nonetheless, Fu Manchu continues their efforts to push the boundaries of fuzz and wah. They have the slightest touch of hardcore influences, for example in the track (I’ve Been) Hexed, which has a certain Suicidal Tendencies vibe to it because of the guitar solos between the vocals. Then again, Slower Than Light is a slow, doomy track with a Black Sabbath sound as in their famous self-titled track, but also guitar effects that remind of Planet Caravan. This mixture of a handful of different influences is what distinguishes them from every other stoner-/desertrock band. Also exceptional about this band, is that Scot Hill‘s vocals don’t need to sound very raw in order to make their recordings sound heavy. In fact, through the years, the vocalist has kept his relaxed, nearly soft voice for the final touch of their music. The album comes to an end with Il Mostro Atomico, an 18 minute+ epic rock jam featuring trippy guitar effects and, especially, a guest performance by Alex Lifeson from Rush. Other roaring cuts like Don’t Panic and the title track -check it out down below!-, not to mention the unique artwork, make you feel nostalgic to the 90’s. Fu Manchu will be celebrating their newest release by playing shows through North America and Europe this spring. So make sure to catch them on tour, I surely will!

Release Date: February 9th, 2018
Label: At The Dojo
1. Intelligent Worship
2. (I’ve Been) Hexed
3. Don’t Panic
4. Slower Than Light
5. Nowhere Left to Hide
6. Clone of the Universe
7. IL Mostro Atomico


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production/Mix7/10
  • Artwork/Packaging8/10
  • Originality8/10
7.8Once again, Fu Manchu released a ripping heavy rock album that fits their discography super well, yet is unique in its own way. On each album they explore the world of stoner rock a little further, which makes them one of a kind, still to this day.