Dyscordia – Delete/Rewrite

/ 0 Comments / By :

I saw Dyscordia live for the first time in 2015 and to be honest, it wasn’t love at first sight. Yet it was one of the best performances I’ve seen, a perfect harmony of Piet‘s clean vocals and Fane‘s grunts combined with a strong musical performance. To create such a high level performance you need 2 ingredients. The first ingredient consists of band members who always give the best they have, the second ingredient is a good bond between those band members that allows them to play perfectly with each other. After seeing them more often I really started to like their music as well and by now I’m a huge fan who is really curious about their third album ‘Delete/Rewrite’.  I’d even dare to say Dyscordia is the best and most successful melodic metal band of Flanders. The band consists of

  • Piet Overstijns (vocals)
  • Stefan ‘Fane’ Segers (grunts and guitars)
  • Martijn Debonnet (guitars and backing vocals)
  • Guy Commeene (lead guitars)
  • Wouter ‘Noteleire’ Nottebaert (bass guitars and backing vocals)
  • Wouter Debonnet (drums).

The album starts with the title track ‘Delete/Rewrite’ and starts with some high-tech sound and suddenly bursts out with Fane‘s grunts. If you think you’ve heard everything of Piet already on the previous albums, you’re wrong. He’s taken his vocal performances to a higher level. In this song he already sings in no less than 3 different ways. When you listen to the lyrics and watch the video, it immediately becomes clear that the theme of this album is a contemporary one: psychological problems and diseases.

When I think of translating psychology into music I expect dark and mysterious elements, combined with some lively nostalgia. There are many ways to create that, but has Dyscordia managed to meet my expectations?  In general, this album is very energetic from the beginning to the end, with a lot of variation in pace. The emphasis is not only on the tempo, but also on the melodies.

For those who like some great guitar work, you are definitely going to like songs like ‘This House’, ‘Rage’ and ‘Stranger To The Dark’. There are also elements added to reinforce the theme. Vocally, Piet sometimes whispers in a mysterious and slightly creepy way and other times they added echoes, for example in ‘Silent Tears’. They used for instance Martijn and Wouter‘s backing vocals to create the effect of hearing voices in your head from time to time. Also musically they added nice extras like a music box in ‘Merry Go Round‘.

All the elements that are their own are immediately recognizable. There’s a clear storyline through the entire album and Dyscordia didn’t forget a single detail during the recordings of ‘Delete/Rewrite’. They didn’t just meet my expectations, they exceeded them. 

Release date: January 7th, 2019
Label: Road Marks Productions

  1. Delete/Rewrite
  2. This House
  3. Rage
  4. The Curse Of Mediocracy
  5. Merry Go Round
  6. Castle High
  7. The Cards Have Turned
  8. Stranger To The Dark
  9. Silent Tears
  10. Rise And Try (bonus track)


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix10/10
  • Artwork/Packaging7/10
  • Originality9/10
8.6Dyscordia took their music to the next level in their third album 'Delete/Rewrite'. They didn't just meet my expectations, they exceeded them.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.