Pentral – What Lies Ahead Of Us

/ 0 Comments / By :

Pentral is a threesome groove progressive metal/rock combo located in Belém in the north of Brazil. They have been around since last year dropping some versions of classic rock songs from iconic bands through their YouTube channel, like Queen, The Beatles and Led Zeppelin. Now it’ s time for their debut album What Lies Ahead Of Us, a concept album that brings us a message of hope and equality, like their band name, which means Spirit in Latin.

A concept album is always a though one to listen to because one songs builds further on another one, so we should see all the songs in the greater concept the two brothers Victor Lima (vocals and guitar), and Vagner Lima (drums), and their third bandmate Joe Ferry (bass) have been creatively constructing. The opener ‘Silent Trees’ surprises us directly with Hindu mantra sounds of a rain forest. When you hear for the first time the voice of Victor you can’t deny that Geoff Tate of Queensrÿche is very close. The song continues with a nice heavy slow riff , it consists further of nice rhythmic changes. The song is quite long and becomes a bit boring to the end.

All My Wounds gives you the impression you are listening to Evergrey, especially with the opening riff. The whole song is very groovy. Pentral has also listened a lot to Pain Of Salvation, as demonstrated in Disconnected, the semi ballad Letters From Nowhere and No Real Colour In Souls. A Gift From God could be on one of the earlier Queensrÿche records, take this as a big compliment. Just sit back and enjoy Are You Satisfied , a very diverse piece. The Law closes up the album with a lot of contrasting blending styles.

Pentral has brought us a very decent debut album. You would never guess that this is only a three-piece, the music sounds full. Although not the typical ‘look how many notes I can play’ progressive band. They are more a groovy progressive metal rock band that keeps the things tidy and clean. What Lies Ahead Of Us is something that the lovers of the progressive more song oriented style should checkout. Although with the concept behind is, it’s not always easy to get a grip on the songs.

Release Date : May 7th 2021
Label : PentralMusic
Tracklist :

  1. Silent Trees
  2. All My Wounds
  3. Disconnected
  4. Letters From Nowhere
  5. Aiming For The Sun
  6. A Gift From God
  7. No Real Colours In Soul
  8. The Shell I’m Living In
  9. Are You Satisfied ?
  10. The Law


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Production8/10
8.2With their message of hope in their conceptual debut album 'What Lies Ahead Of Us', the Brazilians of Pentral offers a a nice groovy progessive rock metal experience.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *