The Quill – Earthrise

/ 0 Comments / By :

What does The Quill from Sweden do when they can’t perform due to a worldwide pandemic? They create a killer ninth studio album! 

‘Hallucinate’ takes you on a trip right from the beginning. The repetitive raw 70s guitar sound pulls you into the music. Ever increasing power in contradiction to a slow hypnotic guitar solo will make your head turn. Your head keeps banging throughout the entire song. Great first song on the album. There is a wonderful surprise ending that you’ll have to hear for yourself.

The crunching guitar riffs keep on going with ‘Keep on Moving’. The speed takes up a notch (it definitely feels this way) and the song is over before you realize it.

In contrast to the previous song ‘Dwarf Planet’ doesn’t feel short at all. It keeps surprising you for more then seven minute plus. It’s a long trip, but there is not a single moment you will lose attention. There are so many musical elements changing all the time, you can listen to it over and over again.

‘Left brain Blues’ is just a fun song to listen to. It also seems the band is having fun performing this song, especially when they are constantly singing/screaming “left brain blues” all together. Lovers of Black Sabbath should definitely listen to the title track ‘Earthrise’. Down-tuned guitars, chiming bells and wonderful vocals make this feel like an instant classic.

After all this brutal power, it’s time to take it down a notch with the first few minutes of ‘Evil Omen’. But don’t be fooled. Over a period of more then nine minutes the power just keeps rising as more and more hard rock adrenaline is pumped into your veins. Always fun when an album finishes with a surprising, little bit different track. ‘Dead River’ starts acoustically and gains more and more of a psychedelic space vibes toward the end, giving it a very interesting closure.

Too bad they can’t perform live, but we received a wonderful new album. Always look at the bright side. The album becomes better every time you listen to it. The first time hearing it, it can sound a little bit flat, but listen again to discover all the perfect detailing and you’ll find a new band to add to your playlist.

If you can’t wait to hear and see how they perform live, you can find a live stream where they included a few of their new songs in the set list.

Release date: March 26th, 2021
Label: Metalville

  1. Hallucinate
  2. Keep On Moving
  3. Dwarf Planet
  4. Left Brain Blues
  5. Earthrise
  6. Evil Omen
  7. 21st Century Sky
  8. The Zone
  9. Dead River


  • Music9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production/Mix8/10
  • Artwork7/10
  • Originality8/10
8Great hard rock album from experienced musicians. Everything is well balanced. The first time round the album can seem a little bit flat. But listening to it a couple of times or just to single songs ,you'll start to notice all the little details and hear just how great hard rock can be.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *