War Curse – Eradication

/ 0 Comments / By :

First of all I shame myself for not knowing this band. These Ohio based veterans kick off with an amazing intro song Asylum featured with Glen Alvelais (former lead guitarist for FORBIDDEN and Testament). It is clear what the War Curse has in store for us. A good old thrash party!

But who are they? Give them a warm applause: vocals by Blaine Gordon, guitar heroes Justin Roth and Joshua Murphy. Behind the drums James Goetz. And last but not least finally here is bass player Jason Vie Brooks!

Maybe something about the art work first. The album is called Eradication and above all that is definitely what you find in the album cover. Darkness, a crow on a branch in a sea of nothingness. Not a soul to tell the tale. Let’s hope we survive this album and don’t end up like the rest of world portraited in this album cover.

With the speedy song Possession you really feel the thrash possessing your body. This shows again that thrash metal is very much alive and kicking! The song makes you spontaneously bang your head. In the song Serpent we hear another famous name featuring in this song: Kragen Lum! These guys really make you think about Testament yet they play a little slower than other bands. Or is that just a feeling? Maybe I am too long awake… anyhow, back to the album guys.

Title track Eradication is a very powerful song. This again makes clear that these thrash veterans know what they are doing! I absolutely love the screaming guitar at the start of the kick-ass solo! Deadly Silence is everything except a silent song great drum and fast guitar picking is the kick off of this song. I think I overstretched my neck while headbanging here. By the way, it is not easy to write at all while headbanging.

The album closes with Polluted minds which gives a bit of a darker vibe. This is really fun and interesting and different from the rest of the album. But not bad at all! I mean something fresh Is not always appreciated but this song is definitely worth the recognition. The song makes clear if you don’t like the album, you are the problem!


After hearing this album I would really recommend this if you are a fan of thrash metal. Eradication is a very solid guitar dominated thrash album. These talented musicians make you want to party on a show or festival as you hear the album.

Release date: 10th of May 2019
Label: Svart Records

  1. Asylum (feat Glen Alvelais)
  2. Sand of Fate
  3. Possession
  4. Serpent (feat Kragen Lum)
  5. Iron Veil
  6. Eradication
  7. Deadly Silence (feat Kyle Thomas)
  8. Polluted Minds


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics7/10
  • Production9/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality6/10
7.6War Curse can make new and veteran thrash metal fans bang their heads with this wonderful album!
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.