All Time Low – Wake Up Sunshine

/ 0 Comments / By :

After celebrating the 10th anniversary of their album ‘Nothing Personal’ in 2019, All Time Low went back to the basics for their latest album ‘Wake Up Sunshine’.

“We got back to how we started. It had been a long time since the four of us made a record under one roof. That became a central theme. We’ve been a band for 17 years. Everybody brought something to the table. A lot of what you’re hearing came from those magic moments together.” – Alex

“I think we accomplished something special. By putting our four heads together, we were able to make a classic All Time Low album.” – Jack

For this album All Time Low teamed up with Blackbear and The Band CAMINO. The cover is very basic and I think that was a deliberate choice. It just shows us the four band members. These four lifelong friends walked into a basement, just like at the beginning, but with more experience. I expected to fall in love with All Time Low‘s music all over again with ‘Wake Up Sunshine’.

Some Kind Of Disaster’ is the first song on this album and immediately my personal favourite. I noticed from the start that Alex‘s voice sounds different than it used to. It’s a bit lower and sounds a bit more hoarse, but still with the same energy we’re used to from him. Also the tune itself is very energetic, I want to dance and sing along everytime I hear it, so I consider this song a perfect start for ‘Wake Up Sunshine’.

Even after all those years, it seems like All Time Low hasn’t lost its sound at all. The band brings variation in rhythm, but they keep the same energy until the song ‘Monsters’, the song with Blackbear. That’s where the sound of the album starts to change. It’s a nice combination of rap and rock, which makes this song different from the previous ones, but not as different as ‘Pretty Venom Interlude’. That one has slow and different atmosphere, more mysterious. You could say it doesn’t fit the album, but on the other hand the title literally says it’s an interlude, so you can’t say you couldn’t expect it to be something special.

Later on the album All Time Low brings another slower song called ‘Glitter Crimson’, but it’s more like a small break in between the other songs. And I must say it’s welcome, because an energetic album containing 15 songs can use a few songs like that. Don’t get me wrong, I love the All Time Low energy, I can even say I like every song on it. One of my personal favourites is the title track ‘Wake Up Sunshine’, but also ‘Safe’ and ‘Summer Daze Season Pt. 2’ are songs I strongly recommend.

I really love this album. You can hear Alex, Jack, Zack and Rian have grown a lot musically, still it feels like nothing has changed. Maybe the answer lies in the last song ‘Basement Noise’, saying they started out as stupid boys in the basement and they still are in some kind of way.

Release date: April 3rd, 2020
Label: Fueled By Ramen
1. Some Kind Of Disaster
2. Sleeping In
3. Getaway Green
4. Melancholy Kaleidoscope
5. Trouble Is
6. Wake Up Sunshine
7. Monsters (ft. Blackbear)
8. Pretty Venom Interlude
9. Favorite Place (ft. The Band CAMINO)
10. Safe
11. January Gloom Seasons Pt. 1
12. Clumsy
13. Glitter Crimson
14. Summer Daze Seasons Pt. 2
15. Basement Noise


  • Music/Composition9/10
  • Vocals/Lyrics9/10
  • Mixing/Production10/10
  • Artwork/Packaging7/10
  • Originality8/10
8.6'Wake Up Sunshine' is another amazing album from All Time Low. The loyal fans will love it and I believe if you don't know this band yet, you might like it too if you're a fan of punkrock.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *