Caligula’s Horse – Rise Radiant

/ 0 Comments / By :

If you are wondering who Caligula’s Horse is, they are a hidden diamond in the world of prog rock from Brisbane, Australia. With their unique sound and vision on how prog rock should sound they have brought us a fresh creative view in the saturated proggy world with bands that mostly want to be the next Dream Theater. On their fifth album Rise Radiant, they are pushing their bands creative edge to new outer boundaries.

From the opening track The Tempest we can hear the typical riffing and guitar sound of Sam Vallen. His dynamic slamming riffs and rhythms topped with the bands distinctive vocal sound, led by Jim Grey, which is full of emotion, is what C’Horse differs from other bands. A great opening track. 

As Slow Violence, one of the singles from the album accompanied by a great video, kicks in with it staccato influenced guitar riffing , you feel right away that this is a song displaying the musical heights the band is capable of. Somewhere it reminds us of the classic progressive band Yes mixed with the heaviness of a Haken.

As the album continues with their complex compositions where heavy dynamics and an intense wall of sound are going hand in hand, it is clear that the music of Caligula’s Horse will need a lot of spins to reveal it musical hidden treasures.

Of course, like all good progressive bands there should be some incredible lengthy songs on an album. With Autumn and the Ascent the Aussies are giving this musical cliché in the progressive world all credit. Autumn takes you on a journey through contrasting musical sequences, from a lovely acoustic beginning through a beautiful medieval sounding section. This theme we hear and feel coming back in The Ascent, the closing song of the album that clocks in well over ten minutes.

This album is a must have for the progressive metal fans and with extension for all those who have a wider view on music, each time you’ll listen to it you’ll discover something new. It’s a luxury that we have this type of bands on our hands. The album features also two bonus tracks, one of which is a cover of the Peter Gabriel and Kate Bush duet Don’t Give Up. 

Release Date : May 22nd, 2020
Label : Inside Out Music
Tracklist :

  1. The Tempest (04:50)
  2. Slow Violence (04:32)
  3. Salt (07:40)
  4. Resonate (02:37)
  5. Oceanrise (04:37)
  6. Valkyrie (05:11)
  7. Autumn (07:51)
  8. The Ascent (10:42)
  9. Don’t Give Up (05:14) (bonus track)
  10. Message To My Girl (03:56) (bonus track)


  • Music9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork10/10
  • Originality9/10
9.2'Rise Radiant' is the Caligula’s Horse sound pushed to its extremes: at once its most ferocious and most touching, its most expansive and most condensed, its most poetic and most vicious. A must have for the prog rockers deep inside of us.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.