Decaying – To Cross the Line

/ / By :

Decaying, the war themed death metal band from Finland, makes a stunning return with their newest album To Cross The Line. Fans of Hail of Bullets, Asphyx and Bolt Thrower, have anticipated this album for long. Decaying last album One to Conquer was a massive blow of old school death metal. What we have here is another slab of unique death metal, charged with sustained power and groove. Since their establishment in 2012 Decaying has released four albums, evaluating their quality of song writing with every studio record. Decaying‘s unique style has gained them recognition to be one of the promising bands in the death metal scene. One to Conquer was the turning point in Decaying‘s career, therefore To Cross the Line is a natural continuation into the same path. Their solid consistency was determined by the quality of their sound. The opening track To Cross the Line is provided with vigorous aspect, the riffs are executed with enough hooks. The growls of Matias Nastolin are very similar to Asphyx‘s vocalist Martin Van Drunen.

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing, ocean, sky, cloud, outdoor and nature

From Shield to Storm opens with gunfire while marching with steady groove and pummeling death metal. Decaying’s mid-paced death metal suits the band’s style, the melodies are substantially added into their songs. With this new album Decaying intent to present their constant formula of slow death metal, while keeping the same elements from their past albums. To Cross the Line is the successor of their previous effort the new tracks are delivered with full force of powered riffs. The songs are rather a hybrid mixture of Bolt Thrower and Asphyx, boosted with dynamic shifts in groove. Many bands have used war theme concepts into their album covers, Decaying’s ideal foray of war is a work of art. Whenever you listen to their albums you see the motion picture of war machine marching into the fields of destruction. The songs are composed of elements that bring the sound of the classic death metal. A Crucial Factor is one of the best tracks on To Cross the Line.

Decaying has produced an album which contains impressive riffs and solos. Futile Effort is without doubt one of the memorable songs on To Cross the Line, the song begins with slow doomy part and evolves into a grand finale. To Cross The Line includes eight tracks, lasting for 39 Minutes of solid performance. The album was released under F.D.A Records. And with the release of this album, more anticipated releases seems to fall under my radar.

Release date: January 19th, 2018
Label: F.D.A. Records
1. To Cross the Line
2. From Shield to Storm
3. Nothing Free
4. The End Justifies the Means
5. Decadence
6. A Crucial Factor
7. The First Objective
8. Futile Effort


  • Music7/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals7/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork7/10
  • Originality7/10
7.2With this new album Decaying intent to present their constant formula of slow death metal, while keeping the same elements from their past albums.