Drawn And Quartered – Congregation Pestilence

/ 0 Comments / By :

Seattle’s death metal cult outfit Drawn and Quartered are back with a brand new album titled ‘Congregation Pestilence‘ out via Krucyator Productions since July 2nd, 2021. Formed in 1994 by guitarist Kelly Kuciemba and vocalist/bassist Herb Burke,  Drawn and Quartered have for two and a half decades managed to create a legacy for themselves by honing their craft in achieving a great consistency throughout every musical accomplishment. While the band does not care much for reinventing the wheel, they have kept close to their classic method of relentless brutality. The insistent blend of barbarity will invite the demonic spirits of evil possessions into your soul. In spite of the fact that many old school death metal classics such as Immolation’s ‘Dawn of Possession‘ and Deicide’s self-titled album come close in comparison to the aural brutality of Seattle’s trio, ‘Congregation Pestilence‘ is another chapter in musical convulsions. From start to finish the album erupts in a blaze of scorching riffs and pummeling blast beats.

Drawn and Quartered often invoke the slow crushing paces of Incantation. Throughout their long career they have established a sophisticated and cognitive understanding of death/doom metal. By maintaining the signature sound of the guitars, the rhythm section creates atmospheric textures and I must say that the band balances its brutality and mid-tempo with perfection. Among their best works to date are the classic albums ‘Return of the Black Death‘, ‘Hail Infernal Darkness‘ and ‘Feeding Hell’s Furnace‘. The opening track ‘Death’s Disciple‘ makes use of these fundamental manifestations, the fiendish guttural growls capture the hellish fury of death metal. Having the same resemblance in the riffing structure to ImmolationDrawn and Quartered‘s riffs reeks of grisly, old school death metal riffage. However, the newest album once again brings some characteristic qualities from the guitar department. For example, ‘Age of Ignorance‘ bursts out with intense tremolo-picked riffs swirling from rapid fury to a slow, atmospheric rhythm. In a similar vein to the previous albums Drawn and Quartered rarely emphasizes catchy hooks. This is not to say that the songs lack any memorable moments. In spite of the ear-shattering fury, the guitars frequently create a pitch-black texture with fiery solos being unleashed rapidly.

Congregation Pestilence‘ is an excellent follow-up to the 2018 album ‘The One Who Lurks‘. The songs demonstrate the trio’s mastery in conveying a crushing slab of brutal death metal. Although the band does not put a lot of emphasis on the slow atmospheric sensation of doom metal, ‘Oblivion Pilgrimage‘ shows the intricacies of the guitars which sound like a distorted symphony. In the course of thirty-eight minutes the Seattle death metal institute ensures visceral musicianship and excellent songwriting. The strongest features of the album remain in the massive performance of drummer Simon Dorfman who delivers waves of trembling double bass and blast beats explosions. ‘Proliferation of Disease‘ conjures primitive riffs and a chaotic maelstrom of twisted solos where the guitars provide impenetrable layers of gnarly riffs.

Drawn And Quartered has brought an evil death metal album with tracks such as ‘Dispensation (Rise of the Antichrist)‘ combining frenzied tempos and slow, creeping guitar passages. The ultra-heavy layers are piled into a vortex of churning riff cacophony, with the drums conveying extremely hellish violence. There are some variations among the songs which focus on a mid-tempo pace. ‘Six Devils (Trepanation)‘ crawls into horrific sonic riffage, deep growls and blast beats thundering through extreme soundscapes. Drawn and Quartered brings forth the epitome of obscure death metal. The elements of death/doom are shrewdly inserted into the song’s structure. With the guitars unifying eerie squeals, there are plenty of grinding moments where the drums unleash flurries of blast beast on ‘Rotting Abomination (The Cleansing)‘.

Each element such as the guttural growls and the tremolos adds depth to the song structure. Closing with the title track, ‘Congregation Pestilence‘ is where everything seems to slow down to a dark and brooding momentum. Drawn And Quartered on their eighth studio album proves that they’re deeply rooted in the underground realm of old-school death metal. Recommended for fans of Incantation, Immolation and Imprecation.   

Release Date: July 2nd, 2021
Label: Krucyator Productions
Track list

  1. Death’s Disciple
  2. Age of Ignorance
  3. Oblivion Pilgrimage
  4. Proliferation of Disease
  5. Dispensation (Rite of the Antichrist)
  6. Six Devils (Trepanation)
  7. Carnage Atrocity
  8. Rotting Abomination (The Cleansing)
  9. Congregation Pestilence


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals/Lyrics9/10
  • Production9/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality10/10
9'Congregation Pestilence' is an excellent follow-up to the 2018 album 'The One Who Lurks'. The songs demonstrate the trio's mastery of in conveying a crushing slab of brutal death metal.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *