Five Finger Death Punch – A Decade of Destruction

/ / By :

It’s been two years since Got Your Six, but Five Finger Death Punch is finally back with new material! Or, well… That depends on your point of view, as A Decade of Destruction is a compilation album, but also includes a completely new song and a cover of The Offspring’s Gone Away. With a mixture of both new and old material, A Decade of Destruction features songs from every previous Five Finger Death Punch album, from Way of the Fist to Got Your Six. For everyone who isn’t familiar with the band’s music yet, this release serves as a pretty decent introductory album to What Five Finger Death Punch is all about. A combination of ‘middle finger’ heavy metal and heartfelt, emotionally loaded lyrics.

Five Finger Death Punch is:

Jason Hook (Guitars)
Ivan Moody
Chris Kael (Bass)
Zoltan Bathory (Guitars)
Jeremy Spencer

Trouble starts off with the classic, heavy Five Finger metal setting. Ivan then pitches in with “I don’t look for trouble, trouble looks for me. That’s how it’s always been, that’s how it’s gonna be.” Looking back at the band’s… bumpy history, regarding issues within the band, alcohol and their record label, it certainly seems that wherever the band goes, trouble follows. With Trouble, Five Finger Death Punch makes the statement that ‘getting involved in trouble’ is just an unavoidable part of their career, but whatever happens, they won’t back down so easily.

As mentioned earlier; Gone Away is a cover song, but damn! It definitely took a different route than expected! Whereas usually, when metal bands cover a non-metal song, they end up with a heavier, faster sound. In this case, the result is quite different. Five Finger‘s version starts off with a very ‘Remember Everything’ feel to it. In comparison, The Offspring‘s punkrock sound definitely feels more energetic, but that’s also a good thing. Five Finger Death Punch shows that they don’t need to take things to a heavier level to make it their own. If you’re feeling a little moody (pun intended) and are in for some soothing FFDP music, this song should definitely be in your playlist!

Looking at the old material included in the compilation album, there’s a mix of both heavy and ‘easy going’ music. With song like Jekyll and Hyde and Far From Home, there’s sure to be something for everyone.

A Decade of Destruction is out now! Give it a listen!

Release date: December 1st, 2017
Label: Eleven Seven Music
1. Trouble
2. Gone Away (The Offspring cover)
3. Lift Me Up
4. Wash It All Away
5. Bad Company
6. Under and Over It
7. Wrong Side of Heaven
8. House of the Rising Sun (The Animals cover)
9. I Apologize
10. The Bleeding
11. Jekyll and Hyde
12. Remember Everything
13. Coming Down
14. My Nemesis
15. Battle Born
16. Far From Home


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals/lyrics 8/10
  • Production/mix 9/10
  • Packaging/artwork 8/10
  • Originality 6/10
8Sadly, it remains a compilation album, and after so much waiting, a lot more original content was expected. However, the songs certainly do stand out, so no complaint there. Definitely a good album for those who have only just started to listen to Five Finger Death Punch.