Iron Savior – “Reforged – Riding On Fire”

/ / By :

‘Titancraft’ became the biggest chart succes ever for Iron Savior last year, which made new fans curious about their previous work. We all know it’s hard to find old albums in stores regularly, but the band was also not allowed to make a re-issue due to legal reasons. Thank god Piet Sielck (vocals, guitar) found a solution:

We can’t re-release our albums from the Noise Records years in their initial form, but we are free to re-record songs from these albums. We’ve approached this opportunity with a lot of enthusiasm.

This solution results in a brand new double album ‘Reforged – Riding On Fire’ with their best and most successful songs from 1997 until 2004. This album is available as 2CD Digipack and on double Vinyl (clear blue or red). The cover of this album suits the title very well. It seems like Iron Savior is going on a journey into space, an aspect regularly used in films when people travel in time. So the band takes us on a journey to the past with their time machines engined on fire. I’m very excited to hear what this journey will bring.

The first song on this album is the title track ‘Riding On Fire‘, a song from their first album ‘Iron Savior‘ from 1997. It’s an energetic start combined by power and speed. Piet Sielcks‘ vocals barely changed through the years and remain powerful, combined with the backing vocals from Joachim ‘Piesel’ Küstner (guitar) and Jan-Sören Eckert (bass) they make a nice ensemble to listen to. Also the guitars scream in perfect harmony, it’s really nice to listen to.

The power and speed continues through the entire album, and every song is another lovely surprise. Most of the songs are similar to their original versions, though the song ‘Prisoner Of The Void‘ is the first on the album which contains some differences. The vocals used to sound like they were coming out of space. In this new version they left the echoes out, which gives the song a new sound to listen to. I believe vocals don’t need much editing and this song proves it.

It’s hard to choose a favourite song on this album because all the songs are great. Most of them are from the albums ‘Iron Savior‘ (1997) and ‘Condition Red‘ (2002). I suppose those are the best two out of the five albums Iron Savior have chosen to make this album. This album fulfills all my expectations from a Power Metal band. These guys did a great job creating a double album with much variation so it doesn’t get boring to listen.

Release date: December 8th, 2017
Label: AFM Records
1. Riding On Fire
2. Battering Ram
3. Brave New World
4. Prisoner Of The Void
5. Titans Of Our Time
6. Eye To Eye
7. For The World
8. Mindfeeder
9. Watcher In The Skye
10. Mind Over Matter
11. Warrior
12. Iron Savior
13. Tales Of The Bold
14. No Heroes
15. Break The Curse
16. Condition Red
17. Protector
18. I’ve Been To Hell
19. Atlantis Falling


  • Music10/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals10/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging9/10
  • Originality8/10
9.2Iron Savior brings a new album which contains their best songs from 1997 to 2004, they managed to revive these songs and make them sound like they're brand new. A nice way for new fans to explore Iron Saviors' music and a refreshment for the existing fans.