Fortune Child – Close to the sun

/ 1 Comment / By :

For this one – let’s start with the only really bad thing about this album: it has only got 8 tracks!

And after this we can return to all the good things of this fabulous record. Rock band FORTUNE CHILD will release their debut LP, ‘Close to the Sun, on March 1st, 2022. Bands like FORTUNE CHILD are the reason to believe that rock n’ roll is still here, alive and will stay. Founded in Jacksonville, Florida in 2021, it will be no secret to any listener anymore that the band members are lovers of good old-fashioned rock. You’ll hear their inspirations by the likes of Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Alice in Chains, The Black Crowes and so many more.

The sun-state four-piece band is going to head their way in the rock n’ roll scene quickly by showing their audience what really matters: the music itself. Rock with often a touch of blues or stoner. It’s loud, it’s dirty, and it’s down-right badass. The band’s line-up consists of Christian Powers on vocals, Buddy Crump on lead guitar, Melanie Jo on drums (previously of Billy Gibbons and the BFGs), and Jon Ward on bass. The band has partnered with legendary rock producer Kevin Elson (Journey, Mr. Big, Europe, and Lynyrd Skynyrd) to produce their full length debut album. Seems to be it was a very wise choice and perfect decision.

First track ‘The Way’ has a nice heavy groove to open up, reminiscent of classical 70s and 80s. ‘Don’t Shoot Me’ keeps going with that: beautiful ear worm riffs and a beloved crying lead guitar. ‘Far’ – as third track – was already released to the public earlier, find the video linked below to check it out. ‘Slow Down’ starts with a breathtaking bluesy guitar riff and is the first more medium paced track. Followed by wonderful slow track ‘Tie The Line’, driving slow and mounting in a voluminous chorus refrain after which a stomping beat leads into ‘Feet Down Low’. A track that has wonderful heavy bass and drums. To raise the pace a little higher again with title track ‘Close To The Sun’. Last track is ‘Conscious‘, a ballad track that feels like the perfect closer to me. Slow acoustic guitar wonderfully combined with powerful vocals; sometimes you do not need more for a good song, less is more, right?

Overall, through all tracks you can find gorgeous pounding drums, driving bass, great vocals, amazing guitar solos and riffs, all perfectly mixed and produced. It’s a great debut for Fortune Child, and I believe after you listened to it, you’ll agree with me in the end: the only bad thing about this album is that it has only eight tracks…

Release date: March 1st, 2022
Label: independent
Track list:

  1. The Way
  2. Don’t Shoot me
  3. Far
  4. Slow Down
  5. Tie The Line
  6. Feet Down Low
  7. Close To The Sun
  8. Conscious



  • Music10/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals10/10
  • Production/Mix10/10
  • Artwork6/10
  • Originality9/10
9Great blues rock, stoner rock, classic rock album. Great influences from great 70s and 80s rock bands. Awesome sound and mix. Fat drums, bass and great guitar. Recommended.
1 reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. […] Read our full review of the debut album right here. […]

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *