Mors Subita – Into The Pitch Black

/ / By :

For some among you this band may not sound familiar, although they are already releasing their third full length album. Mors Subita is a melodic death metal band from Finland that started out in 1999, but only released some EP’s and demo’s before releasing their first full length in 2011. Now three years after their previous release the band is ready to strike again.

Into The Pitch Black starts off after a short intro with the single As Humanity Weeps. A very fast and powerful song that immediately sets the tone for the record. Although this is a very fast and brutal tune the band never loses control and knows where to bring in their melodic elements to bring the song to a higher level. The screams of vocalist Eemeli Bodde are very varied which results in an album that doesn’t get boring after a while.

On the title track Mors Subita is taking a little bit of power back and lets the listener hear that they can do more than just bring fast and brutal music. This results in a very melodic yet powerful song that really shows that these are genuine good musicians.

To conclude this album I have to say Mors Subita did a really good job in delivering a powerful, brutal yet listenable record. They are definitely worth a chance to be checked if you are a fan of melodic death metal. Think At The Gates meets Dark Tranquillity.

Release date: April 6th, 2018
Label: Inverse Records
1. Path To The abyss
2. As Humanity Weeps
3. Dead Sun
4. Defeat
5. Into The Pitch Black
6. Alas
7. I, God
8. Vultures
9. Fear Is Just The Beginning
10. Shadows
11. The Void


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging7/10
  • Originality7/10
7.8With Into The Pitch Black Mors Subita delivers a melodic death metal album that fans of At The Gates and Dark Tranquillity certainly will enjoy.