Sonic Prophecy – Savage Gods

/ / By :

We think our fans will love this album! “Savage Gods”, as a record, basically combines all of the things I think people liked about our previous releases and then moves us forward into new areas musically and lyrically. For our fans, there will be no mistaking this is Sonic Prophecy, but we definitely cover some new exciting ground on this record. This is pure heavy metal with driving guitars, thundering drums, and some of what I feel is my best vocal work to date. With songs “Night Terror, “Unholy Blood” and the album title track, we’ve really laid down a brutal sonic backdrop, along with keeping the melody, which is important to our music.

These are the words of Shane Provstgaard, vocalist of Sonic Prophecy, about their new album ‘Savage Gods’. When I look at the album cover, it’s love at first sight. It’s hard to recognize the gods with their fangs and claws, but I managed to recognize the Egyptian god Sobek. There is a war going on between the gods with thunder and fire, two elements often used in mythology to represent heaven and hell.

The album begins with the title track ‘Savage Gods’, a dramatic song with great guitar work. You can immediately hear Shane Provstgaard has a wide vocal range and his clean vocals are supported by deep grunts in this song. With this song, Sonic Prophecy immediately makes clear what this album is all about. The gods awake and heaven and hell will be destroyed. With ominous music and sinister laughter, it’s pretty clear the gods won’t play nice. The darkness continues through the first part of the album, it sounds more like doom metal music with a power metal voice to me. The songs are very varied. Sonic Prophecy uses different rhythms in the album and also in the songs themselves like for example ‘Night Terror’.

Halfway the album, the music makes a change and starts to sound more like power metal with ‘Man The Guns’. In this song Shane‘s voice sounds rough and combative which fits perfect when you see the title. The most power metal song on this album is ‘Iron Clad Heart’ with a strong pace, screaming guitars and strong, clean vocals.

Sonic Prophecy made a nice combination of power and doom metal in this album, which is something some people will like and others won’t. Vocally and rhythmically, ‘Savage Gods’ is a very varied album.

Release Date: January 19th, 2018
Label: Rockshots Records
1. Savage Gods
2. Night Terror
3. Unholy Blood
4. Dreaming Of The Storm
5. Man The Guns
6. Walk Through The Fire
7. A Prayer Before Battle
8. Iron Clad Heart
9. Man And Machine
10. Chasing The Horizon



  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix8/10
  • Artwork/Packaging10/10
  • Originality9/10
8.8Savage Gods is vocally and rhythmically a varied album with great guitar work. This album combines power and doom metal.