Wolfhorde – The Great Old Ones

/ / By :

After almost two years after their first full album ‘Towards The Gates Of North’, Wolfhorde wants to treat their fans, while they’re working on their second album, with a tribute EP. With this release they want to show where they get their biggest inspiration for making their own music. The cover gives me some kind of nostalgic feeling because it looks like a real life version of the elephant graveyard from ‘The Lion King’. With howling wolves instead of hyenas, the cover refers in a nice way to the band. Wolfhorde consists of Werihukka (guitar and other instruments), Hukkapätkä (vocals and drums) and Nuoskajalka (bass).

I think we should remember to sometimes forget about categorization of music and just enjoy the different range of varieties. With the release of this tribute EP titled ‘The Great Old Ones’, Wolfhorde wants to show the range of different elements within the genre. Just sit back and enjoy good music. – Werihukka

This EP contains covers from Finntroll, Moonsorrow and Amorphis. Three bands who are bound together, but each with their different styles of music. Wolfhorde manages to keep the original character of these songs, while they give them a little personal twist. In the Finntroll cover ‘Jaktens Tid’ the lyrics are more intelligible and Wolfhorde gives a nice twist to the rhythm in the song, which gives more variety to the song.

The Moonspell cover ‘Kylän Päässä’ sounds instrumentally practical the same as the original, though it’s still slightly different. The biggest difference here are Hukkapätkä‘s vocals, he replaces Henri Sorvali‘s screams by his own grunts. That’s what makes this cover unique.

Last, but not least Wolfhorde treats us with a last cover ‘Sign From The North Side’. This cover from Amorphis sounds more like a copy because the vocals sound practically the same as the original. The band managed to make this song more folk by adding a new instrument.

The Wolfhorde add their own elements in the songs and they did it in every song in another way, which makes this EP pretty unique to listen to. They did a great job here, though I would prefer waiting a little longer on their next full album with these covers as a bonus instead.

Release date: December 1st, 2017
Label: Inverse Records
1. Jaktens Tid (Finntroll cover)
2. Kylän Päässä (Moonsorrow cover)
3. Sign From The North Side (Amorphis cover)


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging8/10
  • Originality5/10
8Wolfhorde gives us three unique covers from the bands who inspires them most. It's definitely worth listening to, but I think it would be a nice extra on their next full album instead.