The Ruins of Beverast – The Thule Grimoires

/ 0 Comments / By :

German atmospheric black/doom metal project The Ruins of Beverast is the brainchild of the multi-instrumentalist Alexander von Meilenwald. The word “Beverast” is Meilenwald’s alternative derivation of the word Bifröst which is a rainbow-like bridge that connects Midgard and Asgard in Norse mythology. Over the past eighteen years, The Ruins of Beverast forged an integrated link between black metal and doom metal. On the sixth studio album ‘The Thule Grimoires‘ the multi-instrumentalist utilizes detailed instruments to create densely layered textures resulting in profoundly atmospheric music. In this vast sonic expedition that binds time and space, The Ruins of Beverast unfolds an overwhelming journey into the realms of the unknown. In its time length of sixty-nine minutes, Meilenwald brings a unique and sophisticated experience. There is a variety of instrumentation meticulously employed within a vast musical context.

The album initiates with a twelve minutes track ‘Ropes into Eden‘ which is a slow shifting ambient opus that builds upon unworldly drones of obscurity. A creeping, darkly electronic motif acts as an elemental piece of this immersive music, its dark, resonant synthesizer tones manage to create spectral effects. The unique amalgamation of black and doom metal with multi-textured melodies and symphonic arrangements are powered by the driving force of the guitar riffs and swift blast beats. In its deep breadth ‘The Thule Grimoires‘ expands over the lofty musical structures where the guitars create an impenetrable wall of sound. The prevailing elements like the eerie chants, barbaric growls and the clean vocals already employed on the previous effort ‘Exuvia‘ are also presented here. However, mastermind Alexander von Meilenwald knows how to expand beyond the boundaries of the norms. 

On the latest album The Ruins of Beverast wanders through the desolate paths of the ruined kingdoms of old, where a song such as ‘The Tundra Shines‘ captures the atmospheric and the dark patterns of blackened doom metal. Built on the rhythmic structures of metallic percussion the songs progress from the slow burning tempos of traditional doom metal to harsh black metal strikes. ‘The Thule Grimoires‘ is set upon the crushing riffs where the synth creates a mysterious magical atmosphere. ‘Kromlec’h Kneel‘ is maintained by ominous clean vocals, combining the subtle influences of nineties gothic metal like Type O Negative, whereas the bleak and the electronic textures like the ambient synth and the guitar chords create dreamy soundscapes.

‘Anchoress in Furs‘ takes a dramatic approach almost shifting to adramaturgical style as its elegant ambiance builds an emotional mood. The rasps and sonic effects are rife with the heavy rumbling of the drums and the booming riffs are steered by tribal chants and melodramatic clean vocals. Shrieking growls echo through the cold desolate spectrum where beauty and darkness display the complex nature of the music. Over the course of this prolonged track, you can sense this remarkable facet of musical installation. The powerful double bass and the hypnotic melodies are as catchy as they are ominous.

The Thule Grimoires‘ depicts a surreal quality that manifests the sophisticated signature style of Von Meilenwald‘Polar Hiss Hysteria‘ offers a tribal composition of ambient music that moves constantly in a changing pattern. The most powerful element is the use of the droning riffs that evolve into horrifying moments while the aggressive attacks of the blast beats add dynamic to the song. The trance-like state of the final track ‘Deserts to Bind and Defeat‘ offers an enthralling conclusion. This fourteen-minute epic song evolves into something that the band has never ventured before.

The dark, brooding atmospherics of the icy synth forges lush soundscapes of detailed sounds before the drums bring the cadence and inject furious dynamics. The guitar work is overly dense and shifts into heavier moments as it gradually builds up the atmosphere. What you get is an absolutely entrancing listen to an exhilarating experience of an eerie and blood-chilling segment of blackened doom metal. The latest album doesn’t stray too far from the previous album, but it proves that such unique proficiency can only be achieved over time. With ‘The Thule Grimoires‘ mastermind Alexander von Meilenwald evokes unearthly spheres through the medium of his grand musical experimentation. 

Release Date: February 5th, 2021
Label: Ván Records
Track list:

  1. Ropes into Eden
  2. The Tundra Shines
  3. Kromlec’h Knell
  4. Mammothpolis
  5. Anchoress in Furs
  6. Polar Hiss Hysteria
  7. Deserts to Bind and Defeat


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics9/10
  • Production / Mixing9/10
  • Artwork9/10
  • Originality9/10
9The latest album doesn’t stray too far from the previous album, but it proves that such unique proficiency can only be achieved over time. With “The Thule Grimoires” mastermind Von Meilenwald evokes unearthly spheres through the medium of his grand musical experimentation.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *