Voivod – Syncro Anarchy

/ 0 Comments / By :
Fifteen, yes you read that correct, the Canadian flagship of weird music named Voivod delivers with 'Synchro Anarchy' their fifteenth album to the world. Making music from their debut album in 1984 until 2022. How many bands can say that. With a new album we never know on which journey they will take us now.

Voivod is a band that has always done their own thing, far away from any rules, without paying attention what is ‘in’ or what the people want to hear. Just for that alone you should have a ton of respect for these Canadians dudes. On ‘Syncro Anarchy’ they just continue where they are heading to and that’s a total mix of all different styles you can think off. The one of a kind guitar sound and weird chords makes that you can identify a Voivod song from the first notes. We must say that Guitarist Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain has managed to fill in the spot of the irreplaceable original guitarist Denis “Piggy” D’Amour , a spot that was left open when he passed away in 2005. Next to that the rhythm section that consists of  Dominic “Rocky” Laroche   and Michel “Away” Langevin (drums) makes a tight groove.  Denis “Snake” Bélanger‘s unusual singing fits likes a glove for Voivod. Purists would say that he cannot sing, but hey that makes the music just so original, it doesn’t always have to be perfect.

The new album has a lot to offer. The fade in of ‘Mind Clock’ brings you to a song full of killer guitar tones and eerie vocals. With its heavy and aggresive character , not to forget the lovely little thrash bridge and a pair of gradual tempo changes in the back half thrown in for good measure, this song is one for the books. Next to that comes  ‘Holographic Thinking’, a more catchy vocal melody lined song, but nevertheless a must-hear. Oddly enough, these are also the two longest songs on the album, both past the six-minute mark. Voivod brings weird music which sometimes makes it also a difficul listen. So if you feel a bit fatigue listening to it, give it a rest and listen another time to the remainder of the album. There are some wacky songs on it,  just listen to ‘Planet Eaters’. There is even some surf-rock vibish to be found in ‘The World Today’ and don’t forget ‘Paranormalium’ which brings us excellent guitar work and a hell of a rhythm section that seems to be on fire.

With ‘Syncro Anarchy’ Voivod delivers what they are known for. Wacky, strange sounding guitar riffs, but it works. It just works. They have this vibe, this groove that keeps going. No, it will never be radio music, but if you like something more than everyday music in your collection or just want to spend an evening with some not so romantic tunes, you should get this album.


  • Music / Songwriting 8/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics 8/10
  • Mix / Production 8/10
  • Artwork & Packaging 8/10
  • Originality 10/10

Canadian musicianship is something weird. Think about Devin Townsend and his weirdness. Voivod does the same with ‘Synchro Anarchy’. Strange, wacky, dark songs that still sounds refreshing.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *