Aurora announces brand new album ‘The Gods We Can Touch’ and release new single


Norwegian songstress AURORA announced her highly anticipated new album, The Gods We Can Touch. Her third studio album will be released through Decca on 21st January 2022. Ahead of the album release, AURORA also launched her brand-new single Giving In To The Love which can be listened to here.

The Gods We Can Touch is an elegant and celestial but provocative album about shame, desire and morality, all seen through the narrative prism of Greek mythology. In each of the album’s 15 songs we meet a different god.

Of the album release, AURORA has explained,

The spiritual door between the human and the gods is a very complicated thing. In the right hands faith can become the most beautiful thing. Nurturing and warm. And in the wrong hands it can become a beacon of war and death. One thing that has always bothered me is the idea that we’re born unworthy having to deem ourselves worthy by suppressing the forces within us that make us human. Not perfect, not flawless, just human. Could we find this Divine power in ourselves, while still being attached and seduced to the wonders of the world. The flesh, the fruit and the wine. I think that is what intrigues me about the Greek gods. The gods of the ancient world. Perfectly imperfect. Almost within our reach. Like gods we can touch.” 

1. The Forbidden Fruits Of Eden
2. Everything Matters
3. Giving In To The Love
4. Cure For Me
5. You Keep Me Crawling
6. Exist For Love
7. Heathens
8. The Innocent
9. Exhale Inhale
10. A Temporary High
11. A Dangerous Thing
12. Artemis
13. Blood In The Wine
14. This Could Be A Dream
15. A Little Place Called The Moon

AURORA also released her brand new single, Giving In To The Love, following a radio premiere on Australia’s Triple J. The track is led by an upbeat thumping beat and showcases AURORA’s soaring yet ethereal vocals. AURORA has said of Giving In To The Love,

I was thinking about Prometheus, and how he stole the fire to sculpt us – the humans. I feel like we sometimes forget that we are living creatures, capable of so many beautiful things. And the human’s current obsession with beauty makes us forget and devalue the fire that rests within us. Our inner self, and most important part.”

July saw AURORA release her empowering single, Cure For Me, alongside the music video which was directed by herself, and Fill In Productions. The video which has now surpassed 12 million views on YouTube, can be seen here. The song has received tremendous support across UK radio and streaming services, including plays on Annie Mac and Jack Saunders’ BBC Radio 1 shows, and playlist inclusions across Spotify and Apple Music.

AURORA also recently announced her headline tour for next year. The singer-songwriter will kick off the headline dates at Milan’s Alcatraz on 13th February 2022, and make stops in cities such as Paris, Berlin, London and lots more. She partnered with Spotify to identify and reward her most passionate fans with an exclusive offer of advance access to tickets. Tickets are now on sale here.

AURORA has proved herself to be a triple threat; a singer, songwriter and producer, since bursting onto the scene in 2015 with her debut EP, Running With The Wolves. Since then, AURORA has amassed over 20 million monthly listeners on Spotify, racked up a whopping 2.6 billion overall streams and 1 million+ global album sales.

Growing up surrounded by forests and mountains near Bergen, Norway, Aurora Aksnes first felt the compulsion to sit alone and create at 6 years old; by the time she was 12 she had written Runaway, a song that would later receive a full release and, later still and thousands of miles away, would inspire another 12 year old, Billie Eilish, to make her own music. Runaway catapulted into the Top 40 Singles Chart in the UK for the first time earlier this year and also peaked in the Spotify Global Top 20.

Pre-order here:

More online here:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *