Normandie released new single ‘Hourglass’ featuring Dani Winter-Bates of Bury Tomorrow

Stockholm trio, Normandie, have released ‘Hourglass’, the latest single from their forthcoming new album, ‘Dopamine’, set for a February 9th 2024 release on Easy Life Records.

‘Hourglass’, follows recent singles, ‘Flowers For The Grave’ and ‘Blood In The Water’, in-keeping with the band’s ‘Dopamine Clinic’, which sees new songs ‘prescribed’ on the first of every month leading up to album release.

The song, which features a guest appearance from Bury Tomorrow’s Dani Winter-Bates, is about

“death, and how if we come to terms with it and accept it, we can find new life in the pain,” shares frontman Philip Strand. “Everything that ever was has always ended, all flowers fade.”

Set in a not-too-distant and – crucially – not-at-all-unrealistic future, Normandie‘s fourth album, ‘Dopamine’, finds the band asking two unsettling questions: what if we pushed our brains and bodies far beyond their limits?

And what if we already are?

On their follow-up to 2021’s ‘Dark & Beautiful Secrets’, Philip, Håkan (Almbladh – guitar) and Anton (Franzon – drums) tackle the overstimulation of modern life head-on, and answer some hefty questions with some even bigger songs to produce a devastating, clinical example of everything a modern rock band should be.

“The whole album is about the chase for different highs and natural chemicals: oxytocin, serotonin, dopamine, endorphins, adrenaline…” starts Philip.

“What if dopamine had to be clinically provided because we’ve burned through our receptors?”

“Making this album futuristic and dystopian came very naturally when we started discussing the current state of the world. We’re all on overdrive. We’re upping the stakes all the time, and everybody has a higher tolerance now for stress in a way that nobody saw coming,” he explains.

“Back in the old days you were sowing potatoes and that was your one goal for the day – we were hunter-gatherers and we were just there to provide for our families. Today, we have so many things going on. We’re taught to chase our dreams, but chasing something in the future means you might miss the moment.”

Dopamine‘ chronicles a different type of disorder to the band’s previous album, which took a deep, dark dive into Philip‘ religious upbringing and its aftereffects. This time around, the band looked around at their present, and imagined what a fictional, hellish future might look like, rather than dwelling on the past.

In this future, swathes of society have burned out their neurotransmitters and have to take their dopamine in the same way we do today with caffeine, like that hit of morning coffee that makes you feel human again. But this time, dopamine isn’t used as a stimulant. It’s just what we take to get through the day.

What makes ‘Dopamine‘ feel even more vital is that it’s a futuristic, dynamic rock album that even with everything *gestures wildly* happening within, is clearly made by actual people, with all of their humanity and contradictions laid bare.

Welcome to the Dopamine Clinic. ☺


1. Overdrive
2. Serotonin
3. Flowers In The Grave
4. Blood In The Water
5. Ritual
6. Butterflies
7. Colorblind
8. Hourglass (feat. Dani Winter-Bates of Bury Tomorrow)
9. Sorry
10. All In My Head
11. Glue

Pre-order here:


10: PARIS La Maroquinerie
11: FRANKFURT Batschkapp
13: COLOGNE Die Kantine
14: HAARLEM Patronaat
15: HAMBURG Uebel & Gefährlich
16: COPENHAGEN Pumpehuset

13: MANCHESTER Academy 2
14: LONDON Electric Ballroom
16: MUNICH Technikum
17: VIENNA Flex Café
18: BUDAPEST Durer Kert
20: PRAGUE Meetfactory
21: BERLIN Hole44
22: WARSAW Proxima

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *