The Howlers announce debut album and share the new single ‘Lady Luck’

“Lady Luck” is the new single and video from East London trio The Howlers. The single arrives with the announcement of the band’s highly anticipated debut album’ “What You’ve Got to Lose to Win It All”, a 15 track collection, produced by Black Honey and  defined by resilience, friendship and unconditional love through unimaginable pain. Taking their lead from an eclectic range of influences, from the film scores of Ennio Morricone and John Willams, to desert blues pioneers Tinariwen, Kurt Vile, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Father John Misty, The Howlers are far from your conventional guitar band. 

“El Dorado”, the single released earlier this year, hinted at what was to come from the trio; glorious, expansive songs that conjure up cinematic landscapes a long, long way from London’s East End. Escapism, perhaps, but entirely understandable and justified given what frontman Adam has experienced over the last two years.  Two life changing strokes in the course of two months, the loss of four family members and two close friends and the following immeasurable grief have all played a huge part in the creation of the album, the devoted bond between bandmates and the unique connection between the band and their fanbase.

The single, which existed solely as a riff for years, never quite finding its full form, sits in the middle of the record and has fast become a favourite of the band to play live and defines The Howlers‘ sound. Speaking about the track, the band say: 

“Lady Luck is one of those tracks that never really quite had a place, Adam had the main riff for years often playing it during soundcheck or rehearsals but it never had a song round it, multiple attempts to write a song around it always came out missing the mark by miles and for a long time it was this problem child, Guus would often say ‘Just leave it now’ but Adam knew there was something in it, he just couldn’t see it yet. Eventually the song as it is today came into being by chopping up multiple other songs in similar states of limbo for verses and a chorus and smashing them together, sort of like a frankenstein’s monster of a track made up of all the best bits of other songs, and now it’s one of our favourite songs to play live”.

Pre-order/Save ‘What You’ve Got to Lose to Win It All’ here!

“What You’ve Got to Lose to Win It All” Tracklist:

1. Intro
2. How Long
3. I Need Your Love
4. To Make A King
5. El Dorado
6. Further Down The Line
7. Cowboy’s Don’t Cry
8. Wanting, Waiting, Wishing
9. Lady Luck
10. On The Run (Over You)
11. Once Again
12. Matador (Interlude)
13. Nothing To Lose
14. When The Flowers Bloom Again
15. Take It Easy

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *