Browsing Collection – Don’t Want to Dance EP

/ 0 Comments / By :

Not too long ago I started noticing the small Swedish label Icons Creating Evil Art for its interesting roster and diverse releases. One of their artists that really surprised me recently, is the all female rock outfit Browsing Collection. They released the ‘Don’t Want To Dance‘ EP last year’s Fall and it simply kicks ass!

As soon as the record starts with ‘One Time A Year‘ you get sucked into an undeniably danceable kind of punky rock. It’s a very addictive, smile-inducing and extremely catchy blend of rock, punk, rock ‘n’ roll and poppy notes. Vocalist/guitarist Mimi‘s voice has a very pleasant sulky and raspy tone and reminds me of bands like Marmozets and The Pretty Reckless. Most of their songs have pounding rhythm, chunky riffs, enticing solo’s and infectious melodies and just keep you going for days!

A couple of tracks stood out to me a bit more due to having something a bit different in the sound. Like ‘Oh, Sweet Sire‘ that starts off very bluesy to eventually lean more towards heavy metal. It’s a more mid-tempo track compared to what you heard earlier on the release, but it’s definitely still one of the heaviest on the album. Also a very big plus for Mimi‘s vocals again, here with very soulful wails.

Thank God It’s Friday‘ goes completely the other way with a super poppy song that at first seems very superficial singing about having coke and fries because the weekend starts. It is a bit kitschy, but doesn’t go too much over-the-top. It’s upbeat fun while at the same time having a serious note on everyone being able to party, feel relief after something tough and have fun. But yeah, mostly perfect for dancing, shoutalongs and getting ready to go party on a Friday night!

With ‘The Story That Never Ends‘ they go very serious with a more emotional song about not wanting to be left behind while they also don’t wanna change themselves for someone else. It feels like this is the girls telling us a story from their past, wanting to support people in the same situation.

Don’t Want To Dance‘ by Browsing Collection seems a very ironically chosen title since the music made by these 4 girls will cause you to not want to do anything but dance. It was an absolute pleasure for me to listen to this album (over and over again) and I’m hoping to see them appear in my neighborhood live some time soon!

FFO: Marmozets, The Pretty Reckless, Paramore

Release date: October 26th, 2019
Label: Icons Creating Evil Art

  1. One Time A Year
  2. Something To Hold On To
  3. Hi But No
  4. Oh, Sweet Sire
  5. Thank God It’s Friday
  6. The Story That Never Ends


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix7/10
  • Artwork/Packaging8/10
  • Originality8/10
8Browsing Collection's music is a very addictive, smile-inducing and extremely catchy blend of rock, punk, rock 'n' roll and poppy notes. Their EP 'Don't Want To Dance' will most likely make you do exactly the opposite...
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *