Danko Jones – Wild Cat

/ / By :

If there’s one thing you can say about Danko Jones it’s that rock ‘n’ roll and blues is running through every fiber of his being. He’s been taking over the world with his very honest and pure take on hard rock, always ready to speak his mind about the present state of music and society. He’s doing this with his ever present companion on bass John ‘JC’ Calabrese and his latest drummer Rich Knox (present for his second album with the band now). And here is album number 8: Wild Cat!

With the first track Danko immediately makes clear what he wants and needs in life: rock! And he wants it now! I Gotta Rock has a typical Danko Jones sound to it and does exactly what the title promises you and that is: rock and roll away. In his world rock is very much alive and is here to stay forever and he feverishly wants the world to know. Their first single My Little Rock N Roll is -besides his version of a love song for a woman that leaves him- loving her as much as his favorite kind of music. Built upon the old Rolling Stones hook from Little T & A, it’s one big ode to classic eighties hard rock.

And those kind of “tributes” are to be found sprinkled throughout the whole album. In Going Out Tonight I can catch a hint of Misfits and You Are My Woman reminds me very much of one of his favorite rock bands Thin Lizzy. Lets Start Dancing right out of the gate has a very fast and heavy Motörhead sound, and maybe we can see it as an ode to Danko‘s late friend Lemmy. Jumping into the chorus there’s some cowbell added (“I need more cowbell!” anyone?), actually making it a very happy and upbeat song. Title song Wild Cat reminds me a bit of his earlier work, bolstering a very blues punk sound. Exactly that sound that got my attention when I heard Danko years ago for the first time. Being the socially aware person myself, I absolutely loved his call for revolution on the last track Revolution (But Then We Make Love). A great rocker with an almost stadium feel in which Danko calls us to revolt against the wrongs in today’s world and society but not to forget to make love afterwards.

Wild Cat won’t be a revolution in the (rock) music world, but it delivers what Danko Jones is known for: a mix of the best of rock (‘n’ roll) history spread throughout a bunch of catchy songs. I wouldn’t be surprised if some of the songs on this album will be picked up for airplay by even more commercial, less rock-oriented radio channels. A really enjoyable almost 40 minutes of rock straight from the heart.

Release date: March 3rd, 2017
Label: AFM Records
1. I Gotta Rock
2. My Little Rock N Roll
3. Going Out Tonight
4. You Are My Woman
5. Do This Every Night
6. Lets Start Dancing
7. Wild Cat
8. She Likes It
9. Success In Bed
10. Diamond Lady
11. Revolution (But Then We Make Love)


  • Music8/10
  • Vocals/lyrics8/10
  • Production/mix9/10
  • Packaging/artwork8/10
  • Originality7/10
8 In Danko's world rock is very much alive and is here to stay forever and he feverishly wants the world to know. An album of great and catchy rock 'n' roll songs with hints and odes to rock history spread throughout.