Exhumation – Eleventh Formulae

/ 0 Comments / By :

Pulverised Records is one of the leading record labels in Asia with such a large roster that comprises newer bands and famous acts such as Bastard Grave, Funebrarum, Ripped to Shreds, Vanhelgd, Under the Church, and etc… Since last year the Singaporean underground label has prepared to promote one of their biggest releases of the year 2020. In this effort, Pulverised Records is proud to bring to us the third album of the Indonesian death metal band Exhumation. Formed in 2008, this Asian band thrived to be fundamental to its own primitive methods. The Indonesian duo Bones and Ghoul seemed to abide by disciplinary measures of old school death metal. Eleventh Formulae is the third album that took six years for the duo to perfect their sound. Musically the latest album is built upon the rudiments of classic death metal records and through their understanding of what true metal is. Exhumation emerged from the darkest pits of the Asian continent with one uncompromising principle.

Image may contain: one or more people

Their discography is comprised of two splits and three albums that are rotted beyond the modern style of death metal. Eleventh Formulae was sown in the dark with a malign nature. On these musical grounds, Bones and Ghoul sought to keep their sadistic style of death within the selected timelines of the ’80s and ’90s. Mors Gloria Est broods over the sadistic style of death metal the chaotic style of the guitar riffs and the bludgeoning drums are full of violence while the macabre works of the guitar demonstrate the cult style of death metal. With horrific growls, the slow gruesome moments resonate in the mid-tempo.

Exhumation is mostly inspired by bands such as early Possessed‘s album Seven Churches, Sadistic Intent and even early Mayhem‘s “Death Crush“. There are influences from old school thrash metal which shows the obsession of capturing the old school feel. Exhumation manages to create the horrific and gruesome effect, the album is impressively imbued with the sense of the maniacal shrieking. Inferno Dwellers begins slowly with the uncanny guitar riffs when the insane drumming explodes in chaos. The drums have a specific range in the mid-tempo and it’s occasionally played slowly.

At times the bludgeoning attack would bring shivers down your spine, the album also contains some ominous sounds which are equal to horror movies. Many tracks on the album where you can discern the tracks from others. Grandeur Dawn sounds primitive yet powerful and the quality here is raw. Nasty riffs and pounding drums that conjures up the old school feel, wild and vicious The Eleventh Formulae contains elements of thrash and black metal.

The sound of horror is depicted over the tracks Vicious Ecstasy is transfixed by the pummeling drums and chaotic solos. What surprises me is the frantic pace of the drums Arcane Dance, including elements of old school thrash metal. And straight from the maw, the sickening shrieks are uttered whilst the frenzied tempo becomes intense. While the guitar creates a cacophony of deafening chaos all hell breaks loose. Exhumation churns out their musical style and merges them with subtle elements of black metal.

After six years of continuous work, the duo has finally managed to find the perfect sound which they aimed for. Although the band presented their style on the prior releases such as Hymn to your God and Opus Death. The Eleventh Formulae is quite improved and over the past years, the duo molded the compositions of black metal and thrash metal. Although the extra credit goes to the Indonesian producer Devid Salasughi who is associated with the mixing and the recording process of the album. What defines the album the most is the extreme barbarity and the ancient form of death metal. The style of Exhumation is very close to bands such as Obliteration and Repugnant.

Other tracks that come to abruptness are for instance the instrumental track Formulae II: Ironheart Rapture, fully played with a haunting melody of a piano and beginning with a child who summons the devil. Other gnarly tracks are Ominous Chants and Blood Trails that fall between death and black metal. Fixed on the chaotic pace of the blistering guitar riffs and blast beats, this track sounds close to old Mayhem. While the following track Perdition Spells the drums are played at a tremendous speed just when the pace shifts the shredding solos and blast beats create chaos. Eleventh Formulae is raw and evil for fans of Repugnant and Obliteration this is a morbid fascination of primitive death metal. 

Release Date: February 28th, 2020
Label: Pulverised Records
Track list:

  1. Mors Gloria Est
  2. Inferno Dwellers
  3. Formulae I: Malediction Bells
  4. Grandeur Dawn
  5. Vicious Ecstasy
  6. Arcane Dance
  7. Formulae II: Ironheart Rapture
  8. Ominous Chants
  9. Blood Trails
  10. Perdition Spells
  11. Formulae III: Eleventh Vessel


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality8/10
8Musically the latest album is built upon the rudiments of classic death metal records and through their understanding of what true metal is.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.