The New Roses – Nothing But Wild

/ 0 Comments / By :

The New Roses, an awesome band I got to know when they released their second album Dead Man’s Voice in 2016. An emotional and a very powerful one as I might say. Now we are at the forth album, called Nothing But Wild. And I’m curious what vibe they are going to throw at us this time.

In an interview lead singer Timmy Rough explained the meaning of a rose: it is a symbol of rock ’n roll. You have to be careful when you touch it. It might hurt you with it’s thorns. But if you handle it the right way, it’s a beautiful flower with a nice smell. You might think of Guns ’n Roses at this point. Yeah, they both play rock ’n roll, but The New Roses have a more groovy and funky touch to their music. Also, they pack a ton of emotions in their album. It can laugh, dance, make you think and cry. Get ready for Nothing But Wild. The black album with a yellow wolf on it: you will notice it, and it will attack you.

It starts off with ‘Soundtrack of My Life’. This one screams energy and 3 chord riffs with fast solo’s on top. What a blast to start of the album. Next song ‘Can’t Stop Rock ’n Roll’ takes it a but slower. It’s not a Twisted Sister cover, which I originally expected when I heard the song title for the first time. This is a feelgood rock ’n roll one. A bit slower, but not too much. Just the right pace with harmonies in the chorus. This song only has one message:

‘Yes I know, you can’t stop rock ’n roll’!

Down By the River’, another feelgood rock ’n roll song talking about how things used to be. To quote it the best way by the song itself: “When tomorrow was a year away”. Just chill, nothing to rush you know. Just dance and love and simplicity. I love how you see all of the band members just smiling while they play it. It’s one of those songs you blast at the loudest volume when you are driving in your car with the windows open and sunglasses on. Just let the road take you somewhere, even if you don’t know where that somewhere is. And put that song on repeat, please.

Title track ‘Nothing But Wild’ is a beast. Talking about a girl who’s nothing but wild. Tattoos, long legs, guys “howling” at her, and a killer switch between pickups solo by lead guitarist Norman Bites. What more do you need to represent the album title? Beautiful and fierce.

“There’s a monster under my bed, and I feed it even though I want it dead”. The beautiful lyric that ‘Heartache’ opens with. The feeling that everybody recognizes: Wanting to stop something, yet it always ends up happening and you seem stuck in that loop. “Never thought it would get so strong”. Listen closely to the lyrics form this song, and you will learn a valuable life lesson. This one consumes you and eventually leaves you drifting off in thought. The ending is as powerful as the start: “Love is a monster”.

The Bullet’ is the power ballad I was waiting for. And, on top of that, it’s the perfect song to follow up previous song ‘Heartache’. It’s like how you feel after you’ve had it with your own thoughts. ‘Running Out Of Hearts’ is then again the perfect follow up song for that. If you are familiar with this feeling, you can guess where that one’s about.

Unknown Territory’ gets you out of the zone that ‘Heartache’, ’The Bullet’ and ‘Running Out of Hearts’ just brought you in. Still the same ol’ feel good Rock ’n Roll. But with a heavier riff at its base.

“I’m gonna live my live like the crow flies. Just like the the moon I will light up the dark. Just like a fire I will give you a spark”. That’s another thing I love about this album: the symbolism in the words that can mean different things to every person listening. It’s clear, yet it isn’t. The New Roses just gave the shortest summary to describe the essence of live in ‘As the Crow Flies‘. Tough, yet so enjoyable.

Give ’n Take’ sounds like a badass dude covered in tattoos walking into the room and pushing everybody aside. ‘The Only Thing’ calms the badass dude down to a sweet husband.

And for one last time on this album, The New Roses give it everything they’ve got with another feelgood song ‘Glory Road’. Man, the harmonies in the chorus hit me once again. Combined with solid, but rather calm riffs, this is the perfect closer for ‘Nothing But Wild’. And yeah, it was a wild ride, and I loved every second of it.

This album is your feelgood rock ’n roll album that you don’t want to stop listening to. This album is what I hoped it to be. It gave me all these emotions and I love it. I can’t get enough of it, and that’s the power of The New Roses. Time flies by and this album absorbs it with love, fire and fierceness.

Release date: August 2, 2019
Label: Napalm Records

  1. Soundtrack of My Life
  2. Can’t Stop Rock ‘n Roll
  3. Down By the River
  4. Nothing But Wild
  5. Heartache
  6. The Bullet
  7. Running Out of Hearts
  8. Unknown Territory
  9. As the Crow Flies
  10. Give ‘n Take
  11. The Only Thing
  12. Meet Me Half Way
  13. Glory Road

If you want to check them out on the Nothing But Wild Tour, check their website for more info and the poster below.


  • Music9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production9/10
  • Layout & Artwork8/10
  • Originality 8/10
8.6This album is your feelgood rock ’n roll album that you don’t want to stop listening to. Time flies by and this album absorbs it with love, fire and fierceness.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *