Monolord – No Comfort

/ 0 Comments / By :

Stonerheads occasionally looking up from their their bong will have no doubt recognized that a new star has been forming slowly in the outskirts of that psychedelic galaxy that is Gothenburg: Monolord.

With their first outings hailed as enthralling, riff heavy massive slabs of smoke hazed doom, each new album grows just a little bit better than the previous one. Testament to that was the desert rock of 2017’s Rust. Rather than resting comfortably on their established laurels, No Comfort sees the Swedish combo go down a somewhat different road.

The buzzing riffing on the first track is trademark Electric Wizard. In fact, it sounds so much like the wizard we all love, that should Oborn & Co have written The Bastard Son, they would be instantly forgiven for the haphazard faux pas of Wizard Bloody Wizard.

The rumbling bass keeps you on familiar fuzzy ground for the second track, but the third one throws you a curve ball. The bong infused head trip of Larvae takes an unexpected turn for the melodic that you would sooner see with the likes of Pallbearer. Near the end, however, you’re reminded that this’s still the Lord’s gospel, when they hit you with a mind-blowing, crushing riff that is destined to rip up every gig they will play on their coming tour.

Skywards as well manages to celebrate this newly wed relation between their familiar fuzz and this melodic type of storytelling. Alone Together might even be called a ballad of sorts.

By now, any skeptics left unconverted shall stand in awe for the epic 10 minute closer. If the title track at the end of this record doesn’t move you to tears, then you need to hit the yellow brick road in search of a heart.

No Comfort is the album that sees the threesome from Gothenburg crawl out from under the wizard’s wings and head out on their own. In the past Monolord may have been stoner doom’s own hazy little secret, adored by a select cult of Roadburn veterans, but this collection of six songs should bring them on stage of every rock & metal festival next summer. They rightfully deserve it!

Release date: September 20 2019
Label: Relapse Records

  1. The Bastard Son
  2. The Last Leaf
  3. Larvae
  4. Skywards
  5. Alone Together
  6. No Comfort


  • Music10/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging10/10
  • Originality9/10
9.2'No Comfort' is the album that sees the threesome from Gothenburg crawl out from under the wizard’s wings and head out on their own.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *