The New Roses – Sweet Poison

/ 0 Comments / By :
I’m going to start the first review of 2023 with an album of 2022. Why? Because The New Roses create the nicest feel good Rock 'n Roll. The previous album' Nothing But Wild' that was released in 2019, was one that made you feel like you were driving a car with the sun on your face and the wind through your hair. Let’s see what 'Sweet Poison' has to offer us.

‘My Kinda Crazy’ opens with a classic rock ‘n’ roll riff and the recognizable voice of lead singer Timmy Rough. Right from the start, the room is filled with pure sounding music, and you find yourself bobbing your head on the beat of the music. Before the last chorus, there’s a short but cool sounding solo to finish this song’s character. The song fades out slowly, and we get ready for the next one. 

‘Playing With Fire’ is a very melodic rock song. The choruses and the verses blend right into each other. On this song, you find the instruments playing with the notes and sounds. This gives the song a playful vibe.
‘All I Ever Needed’ goes more on the acoustic road. The electric guitar gives subtle hints in the verses and takes more lead in the choruses. This is one of those songs where you grab the person you love close by and take your lighter out and wave it in the air.

‘The Usual Suspects’ was the first single of this album. The video for it shows The New Roses playing the song live on their tour. I love how it shows fans in it too. Fans with signs, fans who are rocking out, a couple giving each other a subtle kiss, … A very nice view on how music unites people. Maybe we are the usual suspects after all.

‘Warpaint’ starts with a nice amount of string bends, Urban Berz on the drums comes in too. Soon all the band members join in. This song is faster, has awesome riffs throughout and has plenty of energy.
‘Dead of the Night’ is the perfect followup song. Very pleasant riffs, string bends and guitar effects fill the room. The song breathes power and is not afraid to show that to you. It ends abruptly with one more strum and the word night. But it fits the song surprisingly well.

‘True Love’ is totally different from the two previous song. This one is the ballad of the album. A fully acoustic song about, like the title says: true love. That may or may not last forever.
‘1st Time for Everything’ is the perfect example for what I mean with feel good rock n roll. This song will put a smile on your face no matter what. And if it doesn’t, well, there’s a first time for everything.

‘Sweet Gloria’ is an easy song to sing along. It’s smooth and has tiny solo’s in between the song that keep it alive and kicking till the end.
‘The Lion in You’ is a call to awake our inner beast, this in the form of rough and raw rock ‘n’ roll.
Closer ‘The Veins of This Town’ starts off with a clean guitar. It switches to soft sounding electric guitars later, but keeps the clean base throughout the song. One last time to enjoy the feel good feeling and go all out.

This album is full of classic rock ‘n’ roll songs. It has the fast ones, the subtle ones, the acoustic one, … it has it all. A little less feel good than their previous album, but it was still in this one too. That’s what makes me exited every time this band releases a new album. You know you’re going to be in for something that makes you get a smile on your face. There might be some emotional songs in between, but mostly it makes you smile. There are so many emotions going through their songs, and most of it is determined by the first guitar note that you hear. Maybe that’s why it’s called ‘Sweet Poison’; because the same memory can make you smile, tear up, or both at the same time.



  • Music / Songwriting 8/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics 8/10
  • Mix / Production 8/10
  • Artwork & Packaging 7/10
  • Originality 8/10

There are so many emotions going through the songs from The New Roses, and most of it is determined by the first guitar note that you hear. Maybe that’s why this album is called ‘Sweet Poison’; because the same memory can make you smile, tear up, or both at the same time.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *