Death Pop Radio signed with Dark Star Records and released a track of the upcoming album

DEATH POP RADIO announced their self-titled debut album, to be released on May 7th via Dark Star Records. They also released a brand new single and video for ‘Rock ’em Sock ’em’:

Pre-order Death Pop Radio:

DEATH POP RADIO began their journey as a song, not a band. A fun collaboration that quickly blossomed into a full-blown Hard-Pop-Grunge melting pot of backstories and musical experience.

“This album, for DEATH POP RADIO, was a perfect reflection of what happens when you take four guys with a wide range of tastes musically, mix in self-reflection, some humor, some horror, a pandemic, and heat it all up over a flame of desire to create something you were waiting for someone else to do.” – DEATH POP RADIO.

“DEATH POP RADIO has the fire, the image, the sound and the songs that will destroy all in its path… the road ahead looks clear, once unleashed there will be no stopping this monster.” – Jeffrey A. Swanson / President of Dark Star Records 

Their debut single and video, “Ravens”, had thousands of views and hits within days. DEATH POP RADIO was born and came into the world with a natural buzz within the Chicago music scene.

The band started in late 2017 when guitarist Dee J Nelson ran into lead vocalist Eric Liljehorn at a King’s-X show in Chicago. A few quick words; a potential collaboration and mutual love for all things musical. The two began working on a few of Dee J’s songs together and both could tell something right away was simply “clicking”. Shortly after the release of “Ravens” it was clear a full band was in order. In need of a name, the band started out by temporarily using the title of its flagship song “Ravens” and while the temp name stuck longer than expected the guys eventually found the name that would fit them and their unique blend of rock and grunge – DEATH POP RADIO

Dee J and Eric were soon joined by two Chicago area veterans, drummer Jimmy B and bassist Mike Streicher. With a mixed bag rhythm section of thrashy, grunge drumming and hard rock bass added into the fray, DPR was on their way to creating their own flavor and sound. DPR‘s haunted funhouse style is on full display in singles including “Rock ’em Sock ’em” “Ravens“, and forth-coming “Wake Up Drop Dead“. With their raw and driving rhythms and sing-along style hooks, DEATH POP RADIO‘s sound sits comfortably somewhere between Kings X and White Zombie. Add in a sprinkle of industrial sound design and this blackbird soars. The response has been nothing short of overwhelming… Is it the death of pop? No, it’s just DEATH POP RADIO!

Track Listing:
Monster TV
Rock ‘em Sock ‘em
Bitten Lips
Wake Up Drop Dead
Roses and Disdain
Knocked Down
Rat Tail
Jesus Crisis
F@#k It!
Like A Bomb (The Joy Thieves Remix)
F@#k It! (Radio Edit)
Knocked Down (Radio Edit)

Produced by Dee J Nelson Mixed by Dee J Nelson  
Engineered by Dee J Nelson
Recorded at DJN Music Studio

Death Pop Radio is:
Dee J Guitars – Vocals/Production
Eric Liljehorn/EL Mysterioso — Vocals / Lyrics 
Mike Streicher — Bass/Vocals
Jim Bluthardt – Drums

Death Pop Radio online:


Music addict - DJ - Editor-in-chief/Journalist/Photographer/Gatekeeper @ GRIMM Gent - Suomi lover - Geek - Science nut - Nature worshiper/Pagan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *