Hear Athens‘ metal and heavy rock ‘n’ rollers KHIRKI fuse Anatolian and Balkan folk sounds in crushing new song!

, , , , ,

May 21, 2021 will see Athens’ metal and folk- spiced heavy rock ‘n’ rollers, KHIRKI, release their first and highly awaited full- length album entitled “Κτηνωδία”.

Diving deeper into Greek mythology, Κίρκη – pronounced Κírkē  [kírkɛː] – was a sorceress, best known for transforming Odysseus’ crew into animals with her magical wine. Inspired by this mythological enchantress, and after reaping the grapes of the metal and rock culture in the likes of Kvelertak, Mastodon or Tool, KHIRKI has created their very own and original, sweet tasting drink, an essence of finest rock ‘n’ roll, progressive metal spheres and traditional music of their place of origin, ready to be served as Vinyl and Digital formats on May 21st!

The trio’s debut album “Κτηνωδία” ( pronounced: Ktinodia ) features a cohesive set of eight mostly fast- paced, uplifting songs. Its progressive mood is infectious, mesmerizing by the tribal-like dancing chants, “Κτηνωδία” dives deep into an original sound heavily inspired by Anatolian and Balkan folk music. Orchestrated by acoustic and traditional instruments highlight the seducing folk atmosphere; yet “Κτηνωδία” is heavy at heart, a metal record that will crush ears and minds.

Now the band released a second single from their upcoming debut, the high- voltage track “Bukovo”. Just exclusively premiered with New Noise Magazine and available now on all digital platforms, you can check out the song right here:

“Κτηνωδία” was recorded by Theodore Zefkilis at Sca Studios (Rotting Christ, Planet of Zeus) in Athens between Autumn of 2019 and Spring 2020. The album pre-sale of this very special Anatolian & Balkan- spiced heavy rock n‘ roll record is available at THIS LOCATION!

Album Tracklist:
1. Deadpan
2. Black And Chrome
3. Raging Bull
4. Medea
5. Bukovo
6. The Barkhan Dunes
7. Wolf’s Lament
8. Stara Planina

For More Info Visit:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *