Heavy Temple launched new single ‘House of Warship’


HEAVY TEMPLE drop a respectfully tasty nod towards doom giants CANDLEMASS with their catchy new single ‘House of Warship’, which is taken from the psychedelic fast-risers’ forthcoming sophomore full-length. “Garden of Heathens” is slated for release on April 12 via Magnetic Eye Records. Pre-order your copy at: http://lnk.spkr.media/heavy-temple-garden.

The Candlemass influence is pretty up front on this track, but we were also thinking Flower Traveling Band meets ‘Animal Magnetism’-era Scorpions, singer and bass player High Priestess Nighthawk reveals. “The lyrics of ‘House of Warship’ deal with being lied to or being manipulated, while pouring oneself into something or someone – and the self-loathing that comes with the realization of falling for that intentional deception.

1.  Extreme Indifference to Life
2.  Hiraeth
3.  Divine Indiscretion
4.  House of Warship
5.  Snake Oil (and Other Remedies)
6.  In the Garden of Heathens
7.  Jesus Wept
8.  Psychomanteum

HEAVY TEMPLE are back. Back from touring across the United States as well as finding adventure and making new friends in Europe for the first time. Back from the rehearsal room where the making of new songs became far more of a group effort than on the debut album. And back from Animal Farm studio where John Forrestal gave the new album “Garden of Heathens” a rich and warm organic sound that is also crisp and crystalline.

Where the debut full-length “Lupi Amoris” charged forward like a roaring mastodon, “Garden of Heathens” comes across more diverse and sophisticated without losing punch or heaviness. And while the powerful vocals of frontwoman High Priestess Nighthawk provide a strong gravitational pull, HEAVY TEMPLE always remain a riff-first kind of band. Even so, the heavy-touring Philadelphia, PA trio have expanded their range to encompass an even wider breadth of rock and metal road stops, from BARONESS to THE BEATLES and  BLACK SABBATH to FU MANCHU – with many crossroads in between.

Wherever HEAVY TEMPLE are heading on this diverse and dynamic record, they always stay real with both feet on the ground. Except, that is, when it comes to the lyrics. With her words, the High Priestess admits to peddling a version of things that isn’t real – with a grim smile and quite deliberately so. In fact, that’s the theme running through “Garden of Heathens” as a red thread. From the American Dream to relationships, below the surface there is anxiety, betrayal, and doubt. And while some of the lyrical metaphors might at first glance seem to focus on religion, they are definitely not that literal. Rather, these are Nighthawk‘s most personal lyrics ever.

HEAVY TEMPLE came into existence on the 2012 winter solstice during a night filled with the pure enjoyment of creating and playing heavy music. Once established, they drew a steadily growing flock to local shows in Philly, and soon gladly accepted invitations to tour alongside such notables as RUBY THE HATCHET, MOTHERSHIP, ROYAL THUNDER, and CORROSION OF CONFORMITY as well as performances at notable festivals such as The Maryland Doom Fest, Psycho Las Vegas, and Decibel Metal & Beer, among many others.

Following the two EPs “Heavy Temple” (2014) and “Chassit” (2016) and a number of singles, HEAVY TEMPLE at last took a break from heavy touring to record their first full-length. “Lupi Amoris” (“Wolves of Love”) was released in 2021 to strong applause from both critics and followers alike. This album opened new doors including more festival appearances, a US tour with THE OBSESSED and their first tour of Europe with friends and labelmates HOWLING GIANT.

HEAVY TEMPLE are not just back, they are here to stay. “Garden of Heathens” gives strong testimony that the trio is pushing hard to broaden their spectrum and break through any preconceptions and obstacles in front of them. “Garden of Heathens” sheds new light and a wider perspective on heavy and desert rock, psychedelia, and doom metal. Check this out!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *