NAUT release new song and video ‘Damocles’ upon the world

It’s time to for a brand-new track of U.K. post punk band NAUT! Their haunting new song ‘Damocles‘ is accompanied by a new music video which can be found on the official Season of Mist channel HERE.

Damocles‘ is taken from the album “Hunt” which is set for worldwide release on 24th of February 2023!

NAUT comment on the single:

With this third single from ‘Hunt’ we wanted to demonstrate the other sounds that influence our music, outside of the hard rock and post-punk. ‘Damocles’ is a sprawling, slithering slow-build of a track, taking as much influence from the new romantics as it does gothic rock. It wasn’t a conscious decision to make the song take this shape, instead we trusted our instincts and followed them to what we consider new ground for the band. Ground that we will no doubt return to in future.

The video’s use of projected images blasted across a landscape marred by the pursuit of all that glitters, who’s lights shine in the night like car headlights, quite literally make us a part of the city we call home. Filmed in the freezing cold January night, the creation process of this video perfectly reflects the song’s message of a cold and uncaring world, one in which we must create our own fire and tread carefully, lest we fall from our path. One misstep and the blade swings free.

Pre-save the album here:
Pre-order the album here:

The band previously revealed the cover artwork and track list of ‘Hunt‘ which can be found below.

Cover artwork by Gavin Laubscher & Jack Welch

Tracklist of “Hunt”
1. Dissent – (04:17) [WATCH]
2. All the Days – (04:07)
3. Gold & Death – (04:12)
4. Damocles – (05:25) [WATCH]
5. 8 in 3 – (06:57)
6. Unity of Opposites – (04:24) [WATCH]
7. Nightfall – (04:28)
8. Watchers – (05:16)

NAUT are a four piece drum machine rock band from Bristol, whose shared love of classic rock and metal, alongside reverence for the post-punk pioneers of the late 70s and early 80s makes itself known from the start. Triumphant synths and scything guitars entwine with danceable beats, while driving bass-lines, moving to pounding drums, create a dynamic and shifting rhythm section. The tracks pulse with a raw post-punk energy but always remain danceable and (perhaps most dangerously) catchy. The lyrics touch on mental paralysis, impending doom and divided peoples, and with the path our world is currently on they have become more relevant than ever.

Now NAUT are excited to have signed with Seasons of Mist for the release of their debut album. The label has come to represent all shades of musical darkness and feels like a strong pairing for NAUT, as although the band are less extreme in their musical approach, dark music in all its facets underlies all that they do. 

NAUT can’t wait to share this upcoming slab of infectious and pulsing drum machine rock with you all.

Gavin Laubscher: Vocals, drum programming
Jack Welch: Guitar 
Andi Effe: Bass
Laura Taylor: Synths/keys

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *