Oakman announce new album ‘Violent Oblivion’

, ,

French-based trio OAKMAN have announced their brand new album “Violent Oblivion” out 3rd May 2024 via Rude Records. The record sees the band return with their signature pop rock sound and catchy melodies. To celebrate the release OAKMAN have released new single “Proper Attitude”,the third offering off the upcoming album. Pre-Order of “Violent Oblivion” available HERE. Watch the visualiser for “Proper Attitude” HERE

On the new album the band said,

“Violent Oblivion is that violent break with the outside world, our own emotions, and the encounter with our traumas. Through the songs, it represents the different mental states Violent Oblivion can put us in. The powerful catchy melodies and lively instrumentals conceal deep and strong feelings, mental problems, excitement, fear and despair. Getting out of this Violent Oblivion is a big challenge, so we eventually hang on to find some hope and love to cope”.

Speaking about the new single OAKMAN said

“This song describes the feeling of trying to maintain a proper attitude when everything’s going wrong. You’re pretending to be okay when everything’s falling apart inside you and you start to lose it. You’re mad at yourself because you think it’s your fault and people are blaming you. Sometimes it’s too hard to pretend, so you just want to throw it all away. This song has a sarcastic tone. When you’re slowly collapsing and people keep complaining and blaming you for everything, while you’re just trying to survive. Not to mention the very negative feelings about yourself you’re confronted with, after some time, you simply want to throw everything away. When things aren’t going well, it’s easy to end up having this ‘attitude’, that bitchy one I like to call ‘proper attitude'”.

Pre-order/Save ‘Violent Oblivion‘ here: https://music.ruderecords.com/violentoblivion

“Violent Oblivion” Tracklisting:
1. I Am Floating…
2. Ricochet
3. Spiral
4. Proper Attitude
5. Missed Connections
6. Air Hunger
7. I Wish Myself To Be Happier
8. Curse
9.  A Letter To Them
10. Violent Oblivion
11. Acte Manqué
12. Love Picture Soundtrack
13. …Faraway In Space, Forever

OAKMAN, burst onto the Lyon rock scene in 2016 with their self-produced EP, “Waterscape”. Their musical journey quickly expanded beyond France, taking them to stages in England, Italy, Japan, the US, and more. Notable performances include opening for Enter Shikari at Bataclan, Paris, sharing the stage with ZZ TOP at Pérouges Fest, and supporting Basement at Kao, Lyon, along with Bukowski at Marché Gare, Lyon. Building on this momentum, they released their second EP, “Plastic World”, in October 2018. The EP was mixed by Sam Pura (State Champs, Story So Far) in Fremont, CA, featuring tracks like “Plastic World” and “Spread”, which showcase a perfect blend of emotional depth and infectious joy. With Marine‘s incredible voice leading the way, OAKMAN crafts a musical journey that seamlessly balances aggression and solace in each track. After the release of the second EP, they released two stand-alone singles (Outer Space, Naufragé) in 2019 and 2020 all recorded and produced by Sam Pura in the USA.

Oakman released their third EP, “SCP” an acronym for “sugar-coated pill,” in September 2022, after signing to the European record label, Rude Records. Singles from the EP quickly garnered the attention of the likes of Entertainment Tonight, Ones To Watch, Hot Topic and Billboard who dubbed “Night”a carpe diem bop.”

Drawing inspiration from bands like The 1975, Now, Now, The Japanese House, and CHVRCHES, Oakman has evolved their sound into emotional popish rock, seamlessly navigating between indie-pop-rock and alt-pop with a touch of synthpop. The trio’s dedication to perfecting their sound through years of live performances has resulted in killer melodies that transport listeners beyond the clouds. As they enter a new era, OAKMAN invites you to explore their latest creations, marking the continued evolution of their distinctive sound.

OAKMAN are Jessie Gayaud on drums, Geremia Gayaud on bass, and Marine Lanzillotta on guitar and vocals.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *