Aborted – Vault Of Horrors

/ 0 Comments / By :
Aborted is a Belgian/international death metal/grindcore band that next year will blow out 30 candles already. But that doesn't stop these guys to release some brutal gore/grind/death core. 2 weeks ago they released album number 12 and the most special thing about this release is that they have a guest appearance for every single song on this release. I will reveal who the mystery guests are and of course we will talk about the new songs of this legendary band.

Blasting off with ‘Deadbringer’ that releases an absolute power track. It sounds really fresh and innovative. They really put themselves onto the grindcore map with their previous albums just like ‘Retrogore, Terrorvision and ManiaCult.’ But now it seems that they are more moving to the deathcore road, which is all right for me. Maybe it has something to do with are first guest on this album. Nobody less than Ben Duerr from the mighty deathcore formation Shadow Of Intent. It’s brutal, and it’s heavy, what a hell of a beginning. Next in line is ‘Condemned To Rot’ that has a faster pace, but a massive guitar solo near the end and our second guest on this album, Francesco Paoli from Fleshgod Apocalypse. Already two vocalists who are no strangers in the metal world. With our next song called ‘Brotherhood Of Sleep’ they built a song around the third guest, namely Johnny Ciardullo from Angelmaker. The music is slower and darker and more to the deathcore side. I like this new side of Aborted, and what about that massive ending. Goosebumps every time. A famous guy is coming in on this next one. ‘Deathcult’ with Alex Erian from Despised Icon and when his parts are coming up they use the signature breakdown of Despised Icon which is really epic.

It’s already obvious that they are building songs around their guest appearances, mixed up with the ingredients of Aborted. Look at the brutal deathcore parts for Ben Duerr or the signature breakdown of Despised Icon’s Alex Erian. Same for their next song ‘Hellbound’ which is a true death metal teaser for our next guest from death metal band Cryptopsy called Matt McGachy. This is already a winning album for me. It will be in my top 10 of 2024. Maybe even first album, but it’s a long way to go. Jason Evans of Ingested is the next one who makes his appearance on this short cracker called ‘Insect Politics.’ On ‘The Golgothan’ they are paving the way with a blackened touch for Hal Microutsicos from the death/black formation Blasphemous. Heading to my absolute favorite but not their yet. First up is ‘The Shape Of Hate’ with Oliver Rae Aleron from Archspire known for his shotgun vocals. ‘Naturom Demonto’ is brutal as fuck with David Simonich III of Signs Of The Swarm you can just here when his part is coming up, the vibe they create for his appearance is legendary. And we end with my personal favorite called ‘Malovent Haze’ with Ricky Hoover from Ov Sulfur but what a massive track is this with a masterpiece of breakdown when his part is coming up but most of all the ending is epic. With a clean guitar solo and closing it all up. I hope they play this one live, I will absolutely destroy the place myself.

This is one of the most epic album they released in a long time, and don’t forget the epic guest appearances that followed in each track. Aborted, they absolutely nailed it.


  • Music / Songwriting 9/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics 10/10
  • Mix / Production 10/10
  • Artwork & Packaging 9/10
  • Originality 10/10

‘Vault Of Horrors’ is one of the best albums ever created by Aborted. Already at album number 12 hasn’t stopped this guys from created an absolute killer. Check out the things that are inside the vault. Movies like The Mist and Return Of The Living Dead are passing by. Don’t miss it.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *