Cemetery Filth – Dominion

/ 0 Comments / By :

With an outing highlighting the band’s potential, U.S. death metal outfit Cemetery Filth debuts their first full-length album ‘Dominion‘ via Unspeakable Axe Records. Over the past six years this Atlantan quartet reconstructed a strong affinity to old school death metal. In the retro model, we have certainly seen the influence of many bands from the 90’s era such as Morbid Angel, Death and Autopsy. While these influences have continued to pervade over the newer death metal bands whether from Europe or the USA, ‘Dominion‘ represents an old school connection to Floridian death metal acts. Cemetery Filth has gone through a proper evolution and the band has since proved worthy of attention.

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing, tree, outdoor and nature

I first became acquainted with the band by their split album ‘4 Doors to Death‘ which featured other groups like Ectovoid, Sabbatory, and Trenchrot. But on this full-length debut there is a standard level of quality when it comes to death metal. You can hear the distinctive input of Morbid Angel, for example. Album opener ‘Subduction‘ builds up with wicked death metal riffs that truly capture the sound of U.S. death metal bands. These characteristics are blended with chaotic solos that bring to mind the early solos of Trey Azagthoth of Morbid Angel.

Similarly, the following track ‘Exhumed Visions‘ is laden with swirling riffs and pummeling drums that switch from straight blast beats to mid-tempo. By the efforts of dual guitars that form twisted solos and heavy chunks of semi-technical riffs, ‘Dominion’ expands into varieties of raw death metal. There are a lot of groove sections and focused solos that make this debut album so pleasant to the fans of the genre. Most compositions are based upon constructive riffing which again shows the intensity of the songs, loading each track with a mass of swirling riffs. ‘Paralytic Scourge’ is one of the standout tracks that demonstrates the efficiency of this group of young enthusiasts. While the growls here aren’t the typical ones that personify the style of deep growling, instead Cemetery Filth’s vocalist sounds extremely wicked.

As a contemporary death metal act Cemetery Filth knows how to create an intense and inspiring old school death metal experience. The band steps into the murky terrains of death metal and creates many pleasing riffs. The organic energy and the high crafting level for lead guitar sections, including solos, are achieved through shrewd intelligence. Lyrically ‘Dominion’ is characterized by horror subject material like the works of H.P. Lovecraft.

The malicious nature of the riffs on ‘Aeons in Dis‘, for example, is fashioned in the old school style. On this track Cemetery Filth provides some effective ripping riffs, whereas the drums make an adequate alteration between focused mid pacing and blast beats. As for the tone of the vocals, they fully lean towards the growling style of David Vincent of Morbid Angel. The subtle approach to albums such as ‘Altars of Madness‘ and ‘Blessed Are the Sick’ captures the tonalities of the early and mid-Floridian death metal.

Cemetery Filth seems to apply these nuances, but most importantly they have captured the morbidity of the tone. With such an understanding of their craft, there are several tracks like ‘Festering Vacuity‘ that contain frenzied reverberation and meticulous emphasis on aggression. ‘Dominion‘ also showcases the strength of channeling thrash metal riffs, where the guitar department fires powerful riffs and complex rhythm.


These elements improve the quality of songs like ‘Churning of the Shallows’ and for this reason, the album is a blend of absolute morbid death metal. Each track gains momentum with an effective drum performance with overpowering tone. ‘Devoured by Dread‘ is achieved by a fiery level of aggression and begins with heavy churning riffs. Bouncing from groove, mid-tempo to upbeat tones and dense riff concentration. The closing title track is the longest among the previous songs and spans for eight minutes. The tone here is emphasized on mid-tempo and then it rapidly increases in intensity, ‘Dominion‘ is an aggressive death metal album fueled by frenzied notions of the 90’s death metal albums, highly recommend for fans of Superstition, Morbid Angel and Death

Release Date: April 13th, 2020
Label: Unspeakable Axe Records
Track list:

  1. Subduction
  2. Exhumed Visions
  3. Paralytic Scourge
  4. Aeons in Dis
  5. Festering Vacuity
  6. Churning of the Shallows
  7. Devoured by Dread
  8. From Euphonic Crypts
  9. Dominion


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality8/10
8Cemetery Filth's 'Dominion' expands into varieties of raw death metal. There are a lot of groove sections and focused solos that make this debut album so pleasant to the fans of the genre.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *