In Shallows – Beneath The Surface EP

/ 0 Comments / By :

Made up of four members; Colin Trombley (vocals) Bobby Wharton (guitar), Nick Keane (drums) and Cam Bostick (bass) and being based out of New Hampshire, In Shallows released their debut EP album “Beneath The Surface”. The band released their single “Phantom Grace” earlier this year which was received very well among the listening audience, and I believe this album as a whole will be, too! For only being together for 2 years, these guys sound GOOD!

Although this album only contains 5 songs, they don’t disappoint. The band notes that they took inspiration from bands in the music industry such as The Devil Wears Prada, Underoath and Currents. While listening, the first thought that came to my mind was, “Motionless In White vibes”, which is good because I happen to love MIW. I have a feeling I will definitely be following In Shallows very closely as time goes on!

When talking about the album, guitarist Bobby Wharton states;

“We decided to name it Beneath The Surface because this EP deals with a lot of the issues that we face on a day-to-day basis and most of these issues we just keep to ourselves. You never know what’s buried at the core of someone or what lies just beneath the surface. We would love it if people were able to relate to these songs and the lyrics. We want people to know that they aren’t alone and that we all go through hardships”

Not only are the lyrics relatable but they’re super easy to start belting out and straight up JAM to. One song that I’ve had on repeat is “Buried By Mistake“. I’ve literally listened to it 8 times while writing this (don’t judge my process)! It’s got a heavy break down and, get ready for it, the beloved “Blegh” okay, this may be minor to some but I love a good “Blegh”!

Also, can we talk about the cover art, too? I feel like everyone has felt the emotion going on in the cover photo. I know I have. Which means not only are they lyrics relatable but so isn’t the artwork. Kudos, guys! Overall the whole EP is an easy listen and I recommend that you go out there and download their upcoming album “Beneath The Surface” which was released on October 29, 2021!!

Release Date: 29 October, 2021
Label: independent
Track List:

  1. Buried By Mistake
  2. Phantom Grace
  3. Life On Lease
  4. At Your Mercy
  5. Faceless

Follow In Shallows on social media –
Beacons –
Instagram –
Twitter –


  • Music Composition 9/10
  • Lyircs/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging8/10
  • Originality8/10
8.6For a debut EP they don't hold back. In Shallows knows what they want, where they want to be, and just how they're going to get there.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *