Infected Rain – Ecdysis

/ 0 Comments / By :

Originally from Moldova, Infected Rain was formed in 2008. Having grown up loving metal, Lena, Vidick and Dj Kapa decided to form Infected Rain, which quickly amplified their love for music. Lena stated that she took vocal lessons with multiple renowned names such as Tatiana Robertovna and Melissa Cross to be able to reach the highs and lows she so easily does. Over time they have released multiple albums starting with their self-titled demo in 2008, venturing on to release 7 full-length albums after that including the highly acclaimed ‘Endorphin‘ in 2019 and their newest one ‘Ecdysis‘. Along with the albums they have released, they’ve also put out multiple singles with captivating music videos and stories to tell. They took the metal world by storm!

Recently Infected Rain was able to participate in a North American tour alongside the Butcher Babies and Stitched Up Heart. I unfortunately didn’t get to catch their shows but from the reviews, photos, and videos I’ve seen, there’s no denying they all absolutely killed the tour and made more fans along the way! One awesome thing to probably have come from the tour was a collaboration between Lena and Heidi Shepherd of the Butcher Babies.

If there’s anyone who knows how to bring the heavy sounds while making it look easy, it’s Infected Rain.  I’ve learned this recently (recently, as in September 2021) due to seeing their tour announcement with Butcher Babies. I’m so glad I made the decision to give them a listen because I love seeing more front women in the rock and metal industry, and Lena is unlike any other. Every time I hear these guys, I am never left unsatisfied. Lena Scissorhands brings her wild scream while her band-mates bring the gnarly guitar riffs, heavy bass, rhythm, and speedy drumming.

Along with the exciting music and gnarly breakdowns, “Ecdysis” brings us an awesome collaboration featuring Heidi Shepherd of Butcher Babies in the song “The Realm of Chaos”. I was stoked when I heard these two powerhouse voices, and badass women of metal were going to be on one track together! To top it off they put out a music video that highlights the heaviness, and chaos of the song by the movements of everyone and everything throughout the 3:40 video. It ranges from kicking sand, to arm motions, wide eyes and all-around exciting visuals that get you amped along with the song itself.

One other banger that they released off their new album, along with the above-mentioned song, was “Fighter” which, in this music video, we see Lena transform from a made-up, pump wearing female to a fierce force (not saying women who wear pumps, aren’t fierce!) it’s quite the transition. She lets her dreads down and puts on her warrior makeup to go into the boxing ring and fight, because fighting is what you’ve got to do when you feel there’s nothing else you can do. Throughout the video you see Vidick (Guitar), Sergey (Guitar), Vladimir (Bass), and Eugene (Drums) attached to these giant ropes. I’m thinking these ropes might by a metaphor for their past and how to not get caught up in your past or it’ll have more effect on your current state whether you know it or not. You’ve got to fight to break free!

This album encompasses everything metal, while incorporating melodic vocals and keeping their sound unique. Infected Rain has quite the way of putting everything together and producing hardcore music that, while very metal, is an easy listen along with filling their songs up with lyrics that can pack a punch. I don’t know what else these guys have in store, but I can only imagine where they go from here.

Their newest album “Ecdysis” was released on January 7th, 2022, and I am here for it! Let’s see what else Infected Rain can bring to the table and what surprises they have waiting for us in the future.

Release Date: January 7, 2022
Record Label: Napalm Records
Track List:

  1. Postmortem Pt. 1
  2. Fighter
  3. Longing
  4. Goodbye
  5. The Realm Of Chaos (Ft. Heidi Shepard)
  6. Everlasting Lethargy
  7. These Walls
  8. Showers
  9. November
  10. Never The Same
  11. Nine, Ten
  12. Postmortem Pt. 2

Official Site –
Instagram –
Facebook –
Twitter –


  • Music/Composition9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix8/10
  • Artwork/Packaging8/10
  • Originality 9/10
8.6Overall the album is great. It's got the metal we love, rhythm, lyrical truths, and the videos released to go with the singles are theatrical and fun to watch.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *