Jinjer - Wallflowers

/ 1 Comment / By :

Somehow I’ve only picked up on the phenomenon that is Jinjer, who has been blowing up pretty much all over the world over the past couple of years. And man, vocalist Tatiana Shmaylyuk has got some PIPES! I had only heard a few songs from Jinjer so I had heard her vocals before, but listening to “Wallflowers” beginning to end gave me a whole new level of appreciation for her talent. It’s almost like there’s two different vocalists inside fighting to get out and combined with the masterfully crafted music from the other guys, it’s so worth the listen!

The first glimpse I got at the album was the single “Vortex” and it’s pleasant how smooth the music is and how lyrics flow. When listening to the lyrics it’s pretty easy to realize that this song was written about the impact of heavy thoughts, over thinking and carrying burdens on your shoulders. The lyrics “Oh, how heavy is his thought? In a half an hour or so, It crushed the floor, And smashed the man’s toes.” points out how you can quickly end up crumbling under the pressure and just losing control. It’s a “lighter” song as far as instrumentals compared to most of the rest of the album with an intricate mix of bouncing around bass lines, almost understated guitar play and the mesmerizing drum work including those aptly placed ghost notes only getting heavier from time to time but doesn’t hit home any bit less hard. The thing that was almost unbelievable to me was just how well vocals transitioned from melodic to screams, again, if I did not know better I would think it was two completely separate people. I’m speechless!

My other two go to songs from the album are “Copy Cat” and of course the song which the album is named after “Wallflower”. With the latter being my top song of the album. It talks about how going out into the world, especially as an introvert, you’ve got to wear this “shell” and having to deal with the pressure to be this entity the world wants you to be, say what others want you to say and it’s downright exhausting. The lyric “I gotta go home, my batteries are low. This life is a lock down. I gotta go home, my batteries are low. That’s what it’s all about.” sums it up perfectly in my opinion. Whereas when you’re staying home in your ‘fortress’ you can recharge, take that shell off and be the true self you were meant to be without worrying about the outside world.

Wallflowersbrings the signature djenty metalcore Jinjer sound we desire, staying true to Jinjer‘s nature. And yet they still manage to change the way they present their music. You don’t hear the same music over and over again as some bands do. They could’ve easily made another ‘Pisces‘, but instead they surprise friend and foe with for instance the heartfelt ‘Wallflower‘ track that somehow really vibed with a whole lot of people. The sound is HEAVY, if not in the music, then in the overall delivery and atmosphere created by these lovely 4 people who are all an integral part of the perfect puzzle that is Jinjer. And whenever you start thinking they might have gone a bit soft, they hit back hard with a grooving banger like ‘Disclosure!’, reminding us of one of Tati‘s inspirations Guano Apes, or the absolutely relentless closing track ‘Mediator‘ in which drummer Vladi really put down a tour-de-force and Tati sounds like a beast!

The album as a whole is well balanced as far as content goes and the whole production value of the album is tip top. I wasn’t sure how I would like it, but I am glad I took the opportunity to get this album and dive into the world of Jinjer.

Release Date: August 27th, 2021
Record Label: Napalm Records
Track list:

  1. Call Me A Symbol
  2. Colossus
  3. Vortex
  4. Disclosure!
  5. Copycat
  6. Pearls and Swine
  7. Sleep Of The Righteous
  8. Wallflower
  9. Dead Hands Feel No Pain
  10. As I Boil Ice
  11. Mediator

Jinjer Online
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JinjerOfficial
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jinjer_official/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jinjerofficial


  • Music/Composition9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals10/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging8/10
  • Originality9/10
9Not knowing what to think I dove into the world of Jinjer and I was mind blown! The talent that this group has is amazing and that isn't including the absolutely badass vocals presented to us by Tatiana. While bringing the heavy sound, and amazing vocals they also capture meaningful content within the lyrics.
1 reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *