Krisiun – Mortem Solis

/ 0 Comments / By :
Brazilian death metal three-piece Krisiun returns for the follow-up to the 2018 album 'Scourge of the Enthroned'. 'Mortem Solis' is the band’s 12th album on which the trio Alex Camargo (bass, vocals), Max Kolesne (drums) and Moyses Kolesne (guitars) showcase precision and strong cohesion. Among other death metal bands in the scene, Krisiun has gone from strength to strength and continues to push the limits of its robust formula. Throughout their 30 years career Krisiun has evolved from its early sound to become one of the strongest and most consistent acts in the death metal scene in the modern era.

With an impressive level of consistency and persistence ‘Mortem Solis’ delivers an organic performance that reflects the brutal trademarks of the band. There are different influences from bands like Slayer, Vader and Morbid Angel embedded in the composition. The 8 tracks plus an instrumental show the roots of the band. The uncompromising savageness and brutality are brought by hefty guitar riffs, but they also prove how the band has remained loyal to its sound. From the opening salvo ‘Sworn Enemies’ the trio combines the sheer technicality of powerful blast beats with a concrete slab of massive guitar riffs.

The constant bombardment of the drums and heavy grooves lays the groundwork for the heavy guitar torrents. ‘Mortem Solis’ delivers concreted efforts brought in the classic sound of the band. ‘Serpent Messiah’ shows the spectacular skills of Max Kolesne whose blast beats are unleashed at full throttle. The riffing department is no less impressive with guitarist Moyses Kolesne showing variations in tempo and speed and most of the songs featuring incendiary melodies, tremolo pickings and tremendous hooks. The track is quickly followed by ‘Swords into Flesh’ which contains some firm guitar riffs. Catchy hooks and chugging riffs hold much of the sonic artillery while the growls of Alex Camargo overflow with energy as each track has an enormous impact on the listener.


Necronomical’ shows the ability to deliver some lethal grooves in the mid-tempo, but behind these brutal beats, the drums achieve an outstanding balance. Musically, ‘Mortem Solis’ is reminiscent of Krisiun’s classic albums ‘Apocalyptic Revelation’, ‘Conquerors of Armageddon’ and ‘The Great Execution’. The drums fit the fierce style and that’s the absolute core. The guitar intro on ‘Tomb of the Nameless’ provides rapid tremolo-picked riffs. The songwriting takes the best parts of Krisiun’s past albums. Fierce-driven riffs and relentless blast beats come as heavy barrages. The trio maintains their trademarks of dynamic energy. Chock full of blazing riffs played at breakneck speed, there are some elements of black metal The trio has managed to bring up a destructive combination of brutality and technicality.

Further on, Krisiun takes some elements from Nile: for example, the instrumental interlude ‘Dawn Sun Carnage (Intro)’ has that atmospheric and cinematic scale to it. ‘Temple of the Abattoir’ begins with an ominous guitar intro before the drums engage in a ferocious tempo, unleashing barrages of double bass followed by the brutal roaring of the vocals. ‘Mortem Solis’ is an explosive amalgamation, full of rapid drum transitions that would please the fans. However, there is a brutal side here that is completely overwhelming. The rhythm guitar contributes a fair amount of hooks delivered to greater effect into the mix. Krisiun‘s formula relies on the onslaught of drums, while these changes give the songs a brutal edge, allowing the tempo to sound infectious.

War Blood Hammer’ is another sinister entry, albeit laden with groove sections. the drums on this track take a relentless and brutal pace. Vicious growls erupting in a fierce inferno of blast beats continue to rumble hard. The next track ‘As Angels Burn’ utilizes the full range of its blasting sections. The final track ‘Worm God’ sets an ominous tone with guitar arrangements melding the melody. The infectious hooks prove that the band doesn’t mess around in writing some serious ass-kicking tunes.



  • Music / Songwriting 8/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics 8/10
  • Mix / Production 8/10
  • Artwork & Packaging 8/10
  • Originality 8/10

Mortem Solis’ is an aggressive onslaught that defines Latin American death metal. We know Brazilian juggernauts to bring many variations and refined touches to the songs. This 12th album is no exception and it certainly doesn’t disappoint!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *