Slow Fall – Beneath The Endless Rains

/ 0 Comments / By :

Slow Fall is a Finnish melodic death metal band and they released their debut called ‘Beneath The Endless Rains‘ in 2020.

They kick off with ‘Resonance’ that gives us a taste from what is yet to come. Melancholic death metal with doom influences and a dreamy atmosphere. ‘Across The Cold’ takes it up a notch, aggressive melodic death metal with a fantastic chorus.

‘Exile The Day’ has a more doomy atmosphere, same aggressive parts like ‘Across The Cold’ but the atmosphere that they bring is from a more darker matter. ‘Under This Corroded Sky’ comes back with the melodic death metal sound and even some clean vocals in the chorus.

‘Witnesses To The Fall Of Night’ enters the realm of black metal with some massive blast beats and a hellish scream of vocalist Markus Taipale. I didn’t know he could do that. ‘Drown (Beneath The Endless Rains)’ leaves that realm again to enter the one of doom metal. These guys use different genres to create their music, making things interesting and diverse, so keep up the good work. You don’t have to be trapped in one genre.

‘When The Suns Collide’ is taking something from both sides. It’s melodic, doomy and melancholic, using clean vocals most of the time but still making it aggressive as fuck. Good job guys. For surprises you have to wait till the end. ‘Tomorrow Is A Buried Hope’ brings in some prog influences. This song could be easily found on an album of Opeth. But what is up with the last track? ‘Everything Left With Nothing’ is a slow song dominated by the addition of female vocals that bring in a whole new dimension to the music. Opening very slow to then blasting away for one last time. In the chorus we even get a duet with Markus.

Slow Fall are quite the “new kids on the block”, having only released an EP before this. But what they produce on ‘Beneath The Endless Rains’ solidifies them immediately in the ranks of Finnish melodic death metal and is very promising for the future. I am looking forward to hear more of these guys.

Release Date: October 23rd, 2020
Label: Inverse Records

  1. Resonance
  2. Across The Cold
  3. Exile The Day
  4. Under This Corroded Sky
  5. Witnesses To The Fall Of Night
  6. Drown (Beneath The Endless Rains)
  7. When The Suns Collide
  8. Tomorrow Is A Buried Hope
  9. Everything Left With Nothing


  • Music9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals9/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging9/10
  • Originality9/10
9This first full-length of Slow Fall is very promising, they got the right potential to take it very far. Another strong product from Finland.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *