Anneke van Giersbergen’s VUUR launch new track “Freedom – Rio”


Anneke van Giersbergen’s new band VUUR are set to release their debut album, ‘In This Moment We Are Free – Cities’ on October 20 via InsideOut Music. Today they are pleased to release the new track ‘Freedom – Rio’, a song that Anneke co-wrote with Mark Holcomb of Periphery and VUUR’s producer Joost van den Broek. You can listen to the song now here:

Anneke comments:

“Most cities have a rich historical background with waxing and waning fortunes during their existence. You can often still sense the impact of wars, conflicts, and natural disasters and even everyday life can be extremely difficult in a city. Most songs on the album however emphasize the raw beauty of urban life and the sense of freedom that comes with travelling the world and visiting all these beautiful places.”

‘Freedom – Rio’ is also now available on streaming services. Digital pre-orders through iTunes and Amazon receive this track, as well as previous singles ‘Days Go By – London’ and ‘My Champion – Berlin’, immediately. The album will be available on special edition CD digipak, gatefold 2LP + CD (including etching on side D) & digital download. Pre-order now here.

VUUR’s full length debut was produced by Joost van den Broek, who was also involved in the writing process. Others co-writing partners are Mark Holcomb (Periphery), Esa Holopainen (Amorphis), Daniel Cardoso (Anathema), and both of VUUR’s guitar players wrote a song as well.

01. My Champion – Berlin
02. Time – Rotterdam
03. The Martyr And The Saint – Beirut
04. The Fire – San Francisco
05. Freedom – Rio
06. Days Go By – London
07. Sail Away – Santiago
08. Valley Of Diamonds – Mexico City
09. Your Glorious Light Will Shine – Helsinki
10. Save Me – Istanbul
11. Reunite! – Paris

The band also recently announced they will team up with Scar Symmetry for a short co-headline tour in December. Opening act for these exclusive shows will be My Propane.

Dec 07, 2017 Le Trabendo Paris (FRA)
Dec 08, 2017 Biebob Vosselaar (BE)
Dec 09, 2017 The Dome London (UK)
Dec 10, 2017 Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht (NL)

As well as this, in May 2018 Residentie Orkest The Hague will host an encounter with Anneke van Giersbergen. Both nights will feature a career-spanning concert with orchestral arrangements. The song selection will even include material from her yet to be released VUUR album.

May 18, 2018 013 Tilburg (NL)
May 19, 2018 Paard The Hague (NL)

VUUR began playing live this Summer, and have also been confirmed as main support to EPICA in late 2017. You can find the full list of confirmed live dates below:

VUUR as main support to EPICA
9 November – Klub Studio, Krakow – Poland
10 November – Masters of Rock Café, Zlín – Czech Republic
12 November – Kesselhaus, Berlin – Germany
13 November – Markthalle, Hamburg – Germany
14 November – Essigfabrik, Cologne – Germany
15 November – La BAM, Metz – France
17 November – Stereolux, Nantes – France
18 November – Krakatoa, Bordeaux – France
20 November – La Riviera, Madrid – Spain
21 November – MEO Arena, Lisbon – Portugal
22 November – Hard Club, Porto – Portugal
24 November – Razzmatazz, Barcelona – Spain
25 November – Le Moulin, Marseille – France
26 November – Le Transbordeur, Lyon – France
29 November – Backstage Werk, Munich – Germany
1 December – Estragon, Bologna – Italy
2 December – Z7, Pratteln – Switzerland
3 December – L’Aéronef, Lille – France

VUUR are:
Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering) – vocals
Ed Warby (Hail of Bullets, Ayreon, ex-Gorefest) – drums
Jord Otto (My Propane, ex-ReVamp) – guitars
Ferry Duijsensguitars
Johan van Stratum (Stream of Passion) – bass