Deathsomnia premieres haunting new video for “Akinesia”

Darkwave up-and-comers Deathsomnia have unveiled the second single from their forthcoming album You Will Never Find Peace — titled “Akinesia,” the song’s origin points are “night terrors and sleep paralysis, where reality becomes a distortion and the body is contained and powerless. In a state of fear and disorder, a primordial dichotomous perception guides the way, birthing demons,” comments vocalist Kadri Sammel.  The intense, anguished music video premieres today and its visuals were inspired by psychedelic horror films and vintage macabre art and memorabilia.

The creative synergy between Deathsomnia’s multi-instrumentalist members — Kadri Sammel (Bedless Bones), Richard Powley (Telepathy) and Bruno Russo — and their individual punk, hardcore and electronica backgrounds, are the source for You Will Never Find Peace’s unique dystopian punk and industrial sound and genre-bending originality.  Their groovy riffs and crashing percussions draw influences from Wipers, Dead Moon, Health and  Godflesh, the beguiling vocal melodies are dressed with  Depeche Mode and Primal Scream undertones.  

You Will Never Find Peace also features notable collaborations from Gabriel Franco (Unto Others, formerly known as Idle Hands), Kyle Kimball (Nothing, Night Sins) and a remix by Selofan. Additionally, Mike Sharp (Uniform) plays drums on the album and Dwid  Hellion (Integrity) provided the artwork.  The album was mastered by Arthur Rizk (Prurient, Power Trip, Code Orange) and produced by Ben Greenberg (UniformCold Cave, Ceremony); the latter describes Deathsomnia‘s blending of subtle industrial elements into guitar driven songs as “cyberpunk and a welcomed break from current popular darkwave aesthetic tropes.” You Will Never Find Peace is available for pre-order now here.  See Deathsomnia on tour this summer and fall in Europe and the U.K. with She Past AwayGodflesh and others (dates below). 

You Will Never Find Peace, Track List:
1. Deo Non Fortuna
2. Akinesia
3. Void Oblivion (Feat. Gabriel Franco)
4. Dysphoria
5. Katabasis (Feat. Kyle Kimball)
6. Open My Eyes
7. Self Sabotage
8. One Being // One Flesh
9. Wastelands
10. Self Sabotage – Apocalypse Version (Remix By Selofan [on CD & Digital only])

Deathsomnia, on tour:
08-18-2021 Fekete Zaj Festival – Hungary 
09-09-2021 Akropolis – Prague, Czech Republic *
09-10-2021 Klub Proxima – Warsaw, Poland *
09-11-2021 Klub Stary Klasztor – Wrocław, Poland *
10-01-2021 Tallinn Music Week – Tallinn, Estonia
10-08-2021 Vera – Groningen, Netherlands *
10-09-2021 De Helling – Utrecht, Netherlands *
10-15-2021 Kablys – Vilnius, Lithuania *
10-16-2021 Sveta – Tallinn, Estonia *
12-10-2021  The Black Heart – London, UK %
12-11-2021  The Crofters Rights – Bristol, UK %
12-12-2021  Star & Garter – Manchester, UK %
03-11-2022 Factory – Magdeburg, Germany *
03-12-2022 Markthalle – Hamburg, Germany *
03-13-2022 Mau Club – Rostock, Germany *
03-24-2022 Gleis 22 – Münster, Germany *
03-25-2022 Cub Vaudeville – Lindau, Germany *
03-26-2022 Hellraiser – Leipzig, Germany *
06-16-2022 Astra – Berlin, Germany *
07-29-2022 Fluff Festival – Czech Republic
10-22-2022 MOD – St Petersburg, Russia ^
10-23-2022 Aglomerat – Moscow, Russia ^

* w/ She Past Away
^ w/ Godflesh
% w/ Zetra and Naut

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *