Dutch black metal entity SUOL to release self-titled debut album in October

Dutch black metal entity SUOL have announced the upcoming release of their self-titled debut album on October 27th 2023 via Swarte Yssel. The first single from the album, “Slot van Voorst”, is now premiering at Black Metal Daily. Stream it HERE.

At once prudently traditional and brazenly unorthodox, SUOL‘s iteration of black metal simmers and shimmers, flooding the senses in a fever dream of passion, violence and ancient folklore.

After releasing the albums for Shagor, Ossaert, Dinbethes and Weerzin, J. and P. decided to put their shared passion for local myths, sagas and historical stories into a new project: SUOL. Local folktales and dramatic events from past history around the Zwolle and the IJssel area make up the thematics on the record.

To strengthen the local character of the record, P. and J. decided to work with musicians from their local region exclusively. Supported on drums by Elshschappij Tovenaere, on vocals by H. and S and on spoken word by D., the self-titled debut of SUOL was born. Let these six songs take you on a path from Zwolle across the IJssel river towards the Zuiderzee, past arsonist robber barons, shore devils, black shadows, devoured villages and strung-up murderers.

As with Shagor, Dinbethes and Weerzin, the collaboration for the artwork was found at Artfromtheunderground. The pencil drawings were supplied by J.B. Both the Digipak release and the digital release will be handled by Swarte Yssel.

“Suol” tracklist:

01. Hellevaart
02. Slot van Voorst
03. Over de Geute
04. Vrouwe IJssel
05. Wetterman’s Waanzin
06. Bodemdrift

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *