Lordi announce new album ‘Screem Writers Guild’ and release first single ‘Lucyfer Prime Evil’


Come one, come all, to preview the new blockbuster – ahem, album! – from the world’s favorite hard rock monsters, LORDI, who are gearing up for the next chapter of their spooky history. Today, the quintet are proud to announce their 18th studio album, »Screem Writers Guild« which is set to be released on March 31st, 2023 via their new label home Atomic Fire Records. Its title is a reference (and a “LORDIfied” play on words) to the “Screen Writers Guild,” an association of screen writers in Hollywood (’20s to ’50s), yet there is no doubt that LORDI‘s musical version is much louder and fiercer. “The record itself isn’t a real concept album, but it obviously plays with the overall cinematic theme,” says Mr. Lordi.

This news is accompanied by the unveiling of an uplifting taster, titled ‘Lucyfer Prime Evil,’ alongside a lyric video –- drawn by Kaarle and scripted and edited by mastermind Mr. Lordi himself — over on YouTube.

Stream/purchase the track: https://lordi.afr.link/LucyferPR

Mr. Lordi explains,

“This is a first chance for the fans to hear our new guitar player Kone in action on a record. He is doing a pretty lengthy guitar solo on the track, with Hella backing him up by keyboard harmonies here and there. It’s also the very first time in LORDI’s history that you can actually hear the whole band sing backing vocals on this album. Story-wise, ‘Lucyfer Prime Evil’ gives a quite good example of the themes and lyrical content that await you on the record: it’s a horror story, kinda like an eery horror movie theme song. Although this song isn’t really based on any particular horror movie, the conceptual theme of what to expect from the whole album should come across pretty clear.”

»Screem Writers Guild« was produced by Mr. Lordi with Mana and Janne Halmkrona as executive producers. Ilkka Herkman took care of its mixing and Pauli Saastamoinen mastered the record. The artwork was also designed by Mr. Lordi himself who has made a name as director for the band’s vision since the early ’90s.

»Screem Writers Guild« – Track Listing:

01. Dead Again Jayne
02. SCG XVIII: Nosferuiz Horror Show
03. Unliving Picture Show
04. Inhumanoid
05. Thing In The Cage
06. Vampyro Fang Club
07. The Bride
08. Lucyfer Prime Evil
09. Scarecrow
10. Lycantropical Island
11. In The Castle Of Dracoolove
12. The SCG Awards
13. Heavengeance
14. End Credits

»Screem Writers Guild« will be available in the following formats:

  • limited collector’s box set (incl. alternative cover artwork, CD-digipak, 2LP in gatefold, excl. »Live At Masters Of Rock« DVD feat. 5 live songs, 5 band member portrait art prints plus LORDI notebook)

The box set will be available in 3 different variants:

  • incl. red/black splatter vinyl @ Atomic Fire Records Mailorder
  • incl. green marbled vinyl @ EMP
  • incl. purple/black marbled vinyl @ Atomic Fire Records US Mailorder, Nuclear Blast & Levykauppa Äx

Other configurations:

  • CD-digipak
  • 2LP in gatefold (transparent/blue marbled)
  • 2LP in gatefold (red/black splatter; only available in Europe)
  • 2LP in gatefold (green marbled; only available @ EMP)
  • 2LP in gatefold (purple/black marbled; only available @ Atomic Fire Records US Mailorder, Nuclear Blast & Levykauppa Äx)
  • digital

Pre-order the album in the physical format of your choice, pre-save it on your favorite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘Lucyfer Prime Evil’ immediately now, here: https://lordi.lnk.to/ScreemPR.

LORDI are:
Mr. Lordi | vocals
Kone | guitars
Hiisi | bass
Hella | keyboard
Mana | drums

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *