OCTOBER FALLS mainman reveals WOODEN THRONE and sets release date for PURITY THROUGH FIRE debut


Purity Through Fire sets September 30th as the international release date for Wooden Throne‘s striking debut album, Under the Moon They Wander Until Fading Away, on digipack CD format.

Wooden Throne may be brand-new in name, but the creator behind the band is October Falls mainman Mikko Lehto. While that band has prolifically spanned a wealth of no-less-thrilling styles during the past 20 years, with Wooden Throne does Lehto get to focus on the spectral mysteries of the night and suitably create epic black metal of a most stargazing stripe. Granted, October Falls have spanned the more epic ends of black metal themselves, but where the forest is the spiritual/psychic plane for their creations, Wooden Throne‘s realm is more so the moon and cosmos, but no less informed by the forest: simply view the cover art to Under the Moon They Wander Until Fading Away, for cues.

Compact yet vast, the seven-song/33-minute Under the Moon They Wander Until Fading Away is an utterly engrossing experience. From its patiently measured tempos to its acute sense of space and layers of magisterial synth, from Lehto‘s impassioned performance to the powerfully kaleidoscopic production, Wooden Throne‘s first full-length work is one which harkens equally to the glorious 1990s and the undreamt future. Nostalgia and sadness are sensations which figure prominently here, but rather than mire the listener in drowning darkness, there’s a paradoxically uplifting aspect to the album that gives it remarkable repeatability. As such, it encourages immersion across myriad activities, be it wandering within the forest, exploring dream states, or simply pondering life’s impossible mysteries; Wooden Throne are nothing if not guides, such as Lehto has been with the legendary October Falls.

Under the Moon They Wander Until Fading Away is truly titled: Wooden Throne open up the beyond for those who dare to dream! Dare to dream with the brand-new track “Withered at Sunrise” HERE at Purity Through Fire‘s official YouTube channel.

Aforementioned cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Wooden Throne’s Under the Moon They Wander Until Fading Away
1. At the Sorrows Chamber
2. The Ravens Cross
3. Withered at Sunrise
4. Under the Moon They Wander Until Fading Away
5. Into Forests Calm
6. Return Into Shadows
7. Through the Timeless Fields

For more info:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *